Skip to content

Cat Power Unveils ‘Jukebox’ Tracklisting; Foos, Pumpkins For Live Earth CD/DVD

After a little futzing with the album’s title, Cat Power, a.k.a. songstress Chan Marshall, has emerged to detail the complete tracklisting for her much-mooted second installation of covers, entitled Jukebox.The forthcoming album, a 12-track affair due Jan. 22 via Matador, will,as previously reported, feature the new and original track “Song forBobby” and a reinterpretation of her own song “Metal Heart.” Othernotable tunes include James Brown’s “Lost Someone,” Bob Dylan’s “IBelieve In You,” Billie Holiday’s “Don’t Explain,” and CreedenceClearwater Revival’s “Fortunate Son.”

Jukebox tracklising:

1. “Theme From New York, New York” – Kander/Ebb; popularized by Frank Sinatra/Liza Minnelli
2. “Metal Heart” – Cat Power
3. “Ramblin’ (Wo)man” – Hank Williams
4. “Song to Bobby” – Cat Power
5. “Aretha, Sing One For Me” – J Harris/Eugene William; originally sung by George Jackson
6. “Lost Someone” – James Brown
7. “I Believe in You” – Bob Dylan
8. “Fortunate Son” – Creedence Clearwater Revival
9. “Silver Stallion” – Lee Clayton
10. “Dark End of the Street” – Chips Moman/Dan Penn; originally sung by James Carr
11. “Don’t Explain” – Billie Holiday
12. “Woman Left Lonely” – Spooner Oldham/Dan Penn, popularized by Janis Joplin

Foos, Pumpkins For Live Earth CD/DVD

If you couldn’t turn out this past July 7 for Live Earth, Al Gore’s earth-minded, talent-packed, worldwide concert series, all is not lost, for Live Earth – The Concerts for a Climate in Crisis, a CD/DVD package, will arrive to store shelves Nov. 20, delivering tunes from Foo Fighters, Smashing Pumpkins, Beastie Boys, the Police, Linkin Park, Chris Cornell, Snow Patrol and many others, reports.Net proceeds from the sale of the forthcoming release, arriving as oneCD and two DVD discs, will benefit the Alliance for Climate Protection,which seeks to inform the public about the importance and urgency ofadopting and implementing effective and comprehensive solutions for theclimate crisis.

CD tracklisting:

1. “Hey You” – Madonna
2. “Times Like These” – Foo Fighters
3. “Driven to Tears” – the Police
4. “Gravity” – John Mayer
5. “Another Brick in the Wall, Part II” – Roger Waters
6. “Bleed It Out” – Linkin Park
7. “Bedshaped” – Keane
8. “Wanted Dead or Alive” – Bon Jovi
9. “Wisemen” – James Blunt
10. “Black Hole Sun” – Chris Cornell
11. “Are You Gonna Go My Way” – Lenny Kravitz
12. “Intergalactic” – Beastie Boys
13. “Suddenly I See” – KT Tunstall
14. “Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)” – Corinne Bailey Rae & John Legend
15. “Que Sera, Sera” – Damien Rice & David Gray

DVD 1 tracklisting:

1. “Live Earth: London Opening” – SOS Allstars
2. “Invisible Touch” – Genesis
3. “Shut Your Eyes” – Snow Patrol
4. “Que Sera, Sera” – Damien Rice & David Gray
5. “Suddenly I See” – KT Tunstall
6. “My Blue Heaven” – Taking Back Sunday
7. “What a Wonderful World” – Paolo Nutini
8. “Where is the Love” – Black Eyed Peas
9. “Planet Earth” – Duran Duran
10. “Miss Murder” – AFI
11. “Gravity” – John Mayer
12. “Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)” – Corinne Bailey Rae & John Legend
13. “Bedshaped” – Keane
14. “Sad But True” – Metallica
15. “I Need to Wake Up” – Melissa Etheridge
16. “Too Much” – Dave Matthews Band
17. “Sober” – Kelly Clarkson
18. “Tumba” – Angelique Kidjo
19. “Right to be Wrong” – Joss Stone
20. “Wisemen” – James Blunt
21. “Intergalactic” – Beastie Boys

DVD 2 tracklisting:

1. “Gimme Shelter” – Keith Urban & Alicia Keys
2. “Bailamos” – Enrique Iglesias
3. “Steer” – Missy Higgins
4. “Woman” – Wolfmother
5. “Black Hole Sun” – Chris Cornell
6. “Wanted Dead Or Alive” – Bon Jovi
7. “Are You Gonna Go My Way” – Lenny Kravitz
8. “United States” – Smashing Pumpkins
9. “Another Brick in the Wall, Part II” – Roger Waters
10. “Driven to Tears” – the Police
11. “Better Be Home Soon” – Crowded House
12. “Umbrella” – Rihanna
13. “Bleed It Out” – Linkin Park
14. “Times Like These” – Foo Fighters
15. “La Isla Bonita” – Madonna featuring Gogol Bordello

iTunes Drops Price of DRM-Free Songs

In yet another move forward in the sluggish but constant shift towards the abolishment of Digital Rights Management (DRM) embedded music, Apple head honcho Steve Jobs has confirmed — also evident in some songs on iTunes Plusnow — a decrease in price for DRM-free music on the online outlet from$1.29 a piece to 99 cents, now competing with the cheaper prices of newplayers and All DRM-free tracks on iTunes Plus, comprised chiefly of EMI’s vast catalogue, which initially arrived with a tagged premium, will reflect the price change by today, Jobs told the Wall Street Journal. “It’s been very popular with our customers, and we’re making it even more affordable,” Jobs said.

Adult Swim Maps Trail of Dead, Dethklok Tour

Now that ready-for-battle rapper Ghostface’s tour has been set in motion, officials for Adult Swim have surfaced to unveil details of the previously announced 12-date college campus tour featuring And You Will Know Us By the Trail of Dead and the Cartoon Network’s own fictional band come alive, Dethklok.The outing, set to kick off in Albuquerque Oct. 29, will hit collegesin cities like Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Minneapolis, Boulder, andChicago, among others.

Adult Swim tour dates:

10/29, Albuquerque, NM (University of New Mexico)
10/31, Las Vegas, NV (University of Nevada)
11/1, Los Angeles, CA (University of California)
11/2, Berkley, CA (University of California)
11/5, Fort Collins, CO (Colorado State University)
11/7, Minneapolis, MN (University of Minnesota)
11/8, Vermillian, SD (University of South Dakota)
11/11, Boulder, CO (University of Colorado)
11/13, Carbondale, IL (Southern Illinois University)
11/15, Norman, OK (University of Oklahoma)
11/17, Lawrence, KN (University of Kansas)
11/18, Chicago, IL (Northwestern University)

Share This