Spotlight \

Alamo Race Track

Who? Formed in 2001, Alamo Race Track is made up of Amsterdam natives Ralph Mulder (vocals/guitar), David Corel (bass/synth), Guy Bours (drums), and Leonard Lucieer (guitar). After winning over European audiences with their lo-fi brand of post-punk, the band is now looking for even more success across the pond with the release of Black Cat John Brown, currently out on Chicago-based imprint, Minty Fresh.

What’s the Deal? Unassuming yet seductive, hook-laden yet never predictable, Alamo Race Track has mastered the art of the minimalist rock sound. Much like fellow retro- rockers Spoon, ART relies heavily on gritty guitar tones, simple, slinking bass lines, and wide open atmospherics. The band also channels reverb-heavy 1960s aesthetic currently employed by their European cohort, Peter, Bjorn, and John. With stark instrumentation filtered over an unerring backbeat, the band manages to create intriguing compositions with understated arrangements, like on haunting “Northern Territory” and the folky title track “Black Cat John Brown.”

Fun Fact: Seems as though Alamo Race Track knows a thing or two about viral marketing. Their YouTube clip of an in-studio performance for “Black Cat John Brown” has generated over 400,000 hits and counting.

Now Hear This:
Alamo Race Track – “The Northern Territory” DOWNLOAD MP3

On the Web:
Alamo Race Track at MySpace

Talk: Does Alamo Race Track take your checkered flag?

Get a Free Digital Sampler from and Insound!
When you spend $25 at, you can download a free sampler featuring tracks from Bright Eyes, Dungen, Dinosaur Jr., and many more! FIND OUT HOW >>

Tags: Spotlight