Jens Lekman Steps Into the ‘Night’

After scores of singles and EPs released in Scandinavia, and even one compilation collecting many of the records’ gems, Gothenburg, Sweden’s melancholy popster Jens Lekman will return to the LP game Oct. 9th with Night Falls Over Kortedala, his first full-length effort since 2004’s When I Said I Wanted to be your Dog. Drawing inspiration from his childhood neighborhood in Gothenburg, Kortedala, which a website post claims is “a depressing suburban hell,” the new record, a 12-track affair, will hit North American shores courtesy of Secretly Canadian. But beforehand, the album’s first single, “Friday Night at the Drive-In Bingo,” will be made available July 31st as a digital download and a vinyl single.

Lekman, having labored for over three years on the forthcoming record, utilizes an eclectic mix of genres, including tropicalia, doo-wop, and soul and also tapped label mates Frida Hyvönen and El Perro del Mar for collaborations. Although details have yet-to-be announced, a U.S. tour will be launched in support of the forthcoming effort this fall.

Night Falls Over Kortedala tracklisting:

1. “And I Remember Every Kiss”
2. “Sipping on the Sweet Nectar”
3. “The Opposite of Hallelujah”
4. “A Postcard to Nina”
5. “Into Eternity”
6. “I’m Leaving You Because I Don’t Love You”
7. “If I Could Cry (It Would Feel Like This)”
8. “Your Arms Around Me”
9. “Shirin”
10. “It Was a Strange Time in My Life”
11. “Kanske Är Jag Kär i Dig”
12. “Friday Night at the Drive-In Bingo”

On the Web:

Talk: Will Lekman’s ‘Night’ dawn on stateside listeners?


you may like

Scroll to Top