Skip to content

New Ben Lee Album is ‘Ripe’

Finally, all the love, television, and assorted collaborators Aussie ragamuffin Ben Lee has surrounded himself with have paid off. For his sixth solo album to date, Ripe, has been issued a definitive release, set to hit store shelves courtesy of the New West imprint Sept. 4. The fresh effort, produced by John Alagia (John Mayer, Dave Matthews Band, Ben Folds Five), features previously reported appearances from musically inclined pals such as Mandy Moore, Benji Madden (Good Charlotte), members of Rooney, and Sara Watkins (Nickel Creek). And yes, “What Would Jay-Z Do?,” an ode to his “really incredible” rags to riches hero has landed on the final tracklist. Plus, vinyl junkies are in luck, Lee’s Ripe new record will also drop as a 180-gram audiophile LP.

Ripe tracklisting:

1. “Love Me Like the World is Ending”
2. “American Television”
3. “Birds and Bees”
4. “Is This How Love’s Supposed to Feel?”
5. “Blush”
6. “Numb”
7. “What Would Jay-Z Do?”
8. “Sex Without Love”
9. “Home”
10. “So Hungry”
11. “Just Say Yes”
12. “Ripe”

On the Web:

Talk: Ben Lee: ripe or stale?