Sunset Rubdown Massaging New Tunes

Wolf Parade, Swan Lake, and Frog Eyes constituent Spencer Krug has once again strayed from the pack, flock, and pond and is prepping the release of Random Spirit Lover, his third full-length under the Sunset Rubdown moniker, due at a yet-to-be specified date this October. The release, marking the follow up to 2006’s acclaimed sophomore album Shut Up I Am Dreaming, is the first Sunset Rubdown release on the Jagjaguwar imprint, which is also home to indie super group Swan Lake. Krug and band — Montreal residents Michael Doerksen, Camilla Wynne Ingr, and Jordan Robson-Cramer — will deliver 12 tracks with Random Spirit Lover, including titles such as “Child-Heart Losers,” “Magic vs. Midas,” and “The Taming of the Hands that Came Back to Life.”

Tentative Random Spirit Lover tracklisting:

1. “The Mending of the Gown”
2. “Magic vs. Midas”
3. “Up on Your Leopard, Upon the End of Your Feral Days”
4. “The Courtesan has Sung”
5. “Winged/Wicked Things”
6. “Colt Stands Up, Grows Horns”
7. “Stallion”
8. “For the Pier (and Dead Shimmering)”
9. “The Taming of the Hands that Came Back to Life”
10. “Setting vs. Rising”
11. “Trumpet, Trumpet, Toot! Toot!”
12. “Child-Heart Losers”

On the Web:
Sunset Rubdown at

Talk: Are you looking forward to a Sunset Rubdown this October?


you may like

Scroll to Top