Skip to content

Concretes Cook Up ‘Trouble’

Despite having lost lead vocalist Victoria Bergsman to a few native young folks, Swedish indie pop collective the Concretes have announced Hey Trouble, the band’s third studio album, which arrives on U.S. shores at a yet-to-be specified date this fall, Pitchfork reports.

The new dozen-song set, out now in Scandinavia and dropping June 4 in the U.K., will be released on the band’s Licking Fingers imprint, also home to fellow Swedes El Perro Del Mar and Frida Hyvönen. A spokesperson from Astralwerks, the band’s previous U.S. home, told that the label no longer has an affiliation with the Concretes.

Song titles include “A Whales Heart,” “Simple Song,” and “If We’re Lucky We Don’t Get There on Time,” the latter showcasing vocals courtesy of Little Wings’ Kyle Field. Jari Haapalainen of Swedish indie rock stalwarts Bear Quartet supplies production and percussion and Hyvönen offers backing vocals to “Hey Trouble.” “Kids” and “Oh No” will act as the album’s initial singles, although details regarding a release date have yet been announced.

Hey Trouble tracklisting:

1. “Hey Trouble”
2. “A Whales Heart”
3. “Kids”
4. “Firewatch”
5. “Didion”
6. “Oh Boy”
7. “Keep Yours”
8. “If We’re Lucky We Don’t Get There on Time”
9. “Souvenirs”
10. “Are You Prepared”
11. “Oh No”
12. “Simple Song”

On the Web:

Talk: Will the Concretes’ career dry up and turn to stone without Victoria Bergsman?