Skip to content

Bands, Labels Join for Independent Compilations

Select members of indie rock’s finest, including the likes of Bloc Party, the Shins, and Bright Eyes, have united to produced a yet-to-be titled series of compilations similar to chart-topping dance assemblage Now That’s What I Call Music, reports. Air, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, and M. Ward, as well as Ted Leo, Cat Power, and Silversun Pickups, have also signed on for the series, which will release Volume 1 via Vice this summer, while Volumes 2 and 3 are tentatively slated to arrive later this year via Matador and Sub Pop respectively.

To reach the new markets, the project will team with MTV2 and focus on putting indie rock in the hands of the Middle America. “The focus is going to be Wal-Marts, big box stores, red states, and TV advertising,” Vice general manager Adam Shore told “The popularity of these bands is bigger than they’ve ever been before. So what we’re trying to do here is give more people more reasons to listen to these artists.”

>> Listen to Bloc Party on Napster
>> Listen to the Shins on Napster
>> Listen to Air on Napster

On the Web:

Talk: Will the Wal-Mart demographic love or hate indie rock?