Skip to content

Moore, O’Rourke Project to Release ‘Silence’

Original Noise, an experimental outfit featuring Thurston Moore (Sonic Youth), musician/producer/director Jim O’Rourke, saxophonist Mats Gustafsson, guitarist Terrie Ex (the Ex), drummer Paal Nilssen-Love (the Thing), and bassist Massimo Pupillo (Zu), will release The First Original Silence April 23 via Oslo, Norway’s Smalltown Superjazzz imprint, Pitchfork reports. The album is a two-track effort — “If Light Has No Age, Time Has No Shadow” and “In the Name of the Law” — recorded to tape during a totally improvised 2005 concert in Italy. The First Original Silence is the initial release in handful of Original Noise albums expected to drop in the near future.

On the Web:
Thurston Moore at
Jim O’Rourke at

Talk: Thurston Moore’s many side projects: Yay or nay?