Cornell Quits Audioslave

Alternative rock mainstay Chris Cornell has announced both his departure from Audioslave and the release date of his second solo album Carry On, set to drop May 1 on Suretone/Interscope. Cornell, the former frontman of grunge outfit Soundgarden, claimed in a press release that his exit from Audioslave stems from “irresolvable personality conflicts as well as musical differences,” and wished “the other three members nothing but the best in all of their future endeavors.”

Of course, Rage Against the Machine is reuniting at this year’s Coachella festival, with a lineup that features three-quarters of Audioslave: guitarist Tom Morello, bassist Tim Commerford, and drummer Brad Wilk. Could this mean a long-term revival of Rage? A spokesperson for Cornell declined further comment.

Track titles confirmed for Cornell’s Carry On:

“Safe and Sound”
“Scar on the Sky”
“Finally Forever”
“Disappearing Act”
“Billy Jean (Michael Jackson cover)
“Arms Around Your Love”
“She’ll Never Be Your Man”
“Killing Birds”
“Silence the Voices”
“No Such Thing”
“Poison Eye”
“Your Soul Today”

>> Listen to Chris Cornell on Napster

On the Web:

Talk: Could this mean Rage is back for good?


you may like

Scroll to Top