Skip to content

Page France Ring in on ‘Family Telephone’

On Page France’s latest indie pop confection, “Mr. Violin and Dancing Bear,” songwriter Michael Nau dreams up a sweetly childlike fantasia, personifying instruments and animals. “I was high on my own big thoughts,” he chirps eagerly before addressing Mr. Violin and Mr. Dancing Bear, who he “loved in a flower patch / Where the birds hatch.” With its warm, dreamscape melody, the softly shimmering song weaves a reassuring embrace, even when its stomping coda awakens the track into tangerine-tinged daylight. Page France’s third album, …and the Family Telephone, will ring into stores May 8.

Now Hear This:
Page France – “Mr. Violin and Dancing Bear” DOWNLOAD MP3

Here’s the tracklisting for …and the Family Telephone:

1. “The Ruby Ring Man”
2. “Wet Dog Afternoon”
3. “Me, Violin, and Dancing Bear”
4. “Be My Pianist”
5. “Pigeons”
6. “Hat and Rabbit”
7. “A Belly to the Sea”
8. “A Belly in the Fish”
9. “Rooster and Its Crow”
10. “The Jokers Joke”
11. “Here’s a Telephone”
12. “Beggar’s Table Legs”
13. “Circus Head (Nobody Knows)”
14. “Casting Day”

Talk: Does this track off Family Telephone call to you? COMMENT

Artist of the Day: Page France
Page France Enchant Philly
Review: Page France – Hello, Dear Wind

On the Web:

>> Listen to Page France on Napster

Subscribe to Spin

YES! I want to try 2 issues of SPIN RISK-FREE!