Skip to content

Lady Sov, Pinback Perform Covers for ‘O.C.’ Soundtrack

Lady Sovereign, Pinback, Rock Kills Kid, and others will cover songs by their peers and influences for the forthcoming sixth installment in the Music from the O.C. Mix series, O.C. Mix 6: Covering Our Tracks. The concept of the album is to feature “bands who are important to the show covering songs that are important to the show,” Music Supervisor Alexandra Patsavas said in a statement.

Where past compilations have had one cover, the new mix, out Dec. 5, is exclusively covers, with Lady Sovereign doing an electro version of the Sex Pistols’ “Pretty Vacant;” Mates of State harmonizing on the show’s theme, “California,” by Phantom Planet; and, Rock Kills Kid covering Spoon’s “Turn My Camera On.”

“We love Spoon,” Jeff Tucker of Rock Kills Kid said in a statement, “so when we were asked to cover ‘Turn My Camera On,’ we jumped at the idea. We only hope that we did it justice!” Songs from the mix will be heard on the fourth season of the Fox drama, which premieres Nov. 2.

Track listing for O.C. Mix 6: Covering Our Tracks:
1. Goldspot – “Float On” (Modest Mouse)
2. Rock Kills Kid – “I Turn My Camera On” (Spoon)
3. Lady Sovereign – “Pretty Vacant” (The Sex Pistols)
4. Mates of State – “California” (Phantom Planet)
5. Pinback – “Wasted” (Black Flag)
6. John Paul White – “Can’t Get it Out of My Head” (ELO)
7. Rogue Wave – “Debaser” (Pixies)
8. Syd Matters – “Hello Sunshine” (Super Furry Animals)
9. Tally Hall – “Smile Like You Mean It” (The Killers)
10. The M’s – “Come Into My Room” (Clinic)
11. Band of Horses – “End’s Not Near” (The New Year)
12. Chris Holmes – “Into Dust” (Mazzy Star)

Talk: Which member of the The O.C. cast would you make a mix tape for? COMMENT

Lady Sov Songs Slated for ‘The O.C.’

On the Web:
The O.C. at