Skip to content

Dashboard, Soul Asylum Record New Albums

Could Dashboard Confessional be taking a step away from the emo darkness and into the hard rock and pop punk light?

For Dashboard’s upcoming and as-yet-untitled album, which is slated for a June 27 release, Chris Carrabba teamed up with producer Don Gilmore. Gilmore, who is best known for his work with Linkin Park and Good Charlotte, last worked with Carrabba on the song “Vindicated” for the Spiderman 2 soundtrack.

Gilmore’s rock bent is apparent early on the album with tracks like “Temporary Love” and “Don’t Wait,” the album’s first single, according to Carrabba doesn’t shy too much from his roots, though: The second half of the album is reportedly mellower, especially on “So Long,” which features vocals from Counting Crows’ Adam Duritz.

Hot Hot Heat, meanwhile, will stick to what’s worked for them on their next album. The band are getting ready to head into the studio on May 1 to record their follow-up to 2005’s Elevator, according to HHH hope to release their third album in September, and they’ve already taken some of the new material out on the road with a few surprise shows, which kicked off in Canada last month.

“We have a bunch of weird gigs to test out our material,” singer Steve Bays told NME. “I didn’t like that we stopped being a live band while we were writing and recording the last record, so I wanted to stay on tour. Any time we’re not writing or recording, we’re doing dates.”

While Hot Hot Heat prepares to release their second album in two years, Soul Asylum are readying a comeback after an eight-year absence. The Dave Pirner-led band will release a follow-up to 1998’s Candy from a Stranger on July 11.

The Silver Lining features several of the final recordings by bassist Karl Mueller, who died of throat cancer last year. The album will also include guest appearances by the Replacements’ Tommy Stinson, Prince, and Dixie Chicks’ drummer Michael Bland.

Finally, Fatboy Slim will release a greatest hits album on June 20. The Greatest Hits – Why Try Harder will feature Slim’s biggest hits like “Praise You,” “Rockefeller Skank,” “I See You Baby,” and “Weapon of Choice,” as well as the new single, “That Old Pair of Jeans,” and new track, “Champion Sound.”

A limited edition of the album will come with a bonus DVD featuring ten of Fatboy Slim’s videos.

Dashboard Confessional official site
Hot Hot Heat official site
Soul Asylum official site
Fatboy Slim official site

Get headlines for FREE on your mobile phone! Just text SPIN to 68423 to sign up. It’s one message per day, Monday thru Friday, bringing you all the news that rocks, minus the carpal tunnel.