Skip to content

Built to Spill, In Reverse

Even though Built to Spill is late to join the MySpace bandwagon (they’ve only been members since 2006), the band is using the community site to stream a track from their new album, You In Reverse, which arrives April 11 on Warner. It’s been five years since the release of the group’s last album, Ancient Melodies of the Future, and according to the band’s MySpace page, You In Reverse is more spontaneous than Built to Spill’s previous efforts. “The band wanted to retain the impromptu, organic feel of their jams,” a web post says. “Rather than [frontman] Doug [Martsch]’s former reliance on extensive overdubs, the group tried to capture loose and live moments, letting each individual musician’s talents be more accurately represented.” Martsch also said that he wanted You in Reverse to sound “classic,” like “a piece of vinyl.”

The posted track, “Goin’ Against Your Mind,” seems to accomplish what Built to Spill set out to produce: It’s nine minutes long, and the guitar work is much more spacey and stripped down than it’s been on recent Built to Spill records. In the current track listing, “Goin’ Against Your Mind” is the first song on You in Reverse. According to the only tour dates scheduled so far are on April 14-15 at Chicago’s Metro, but Built to Spill will announce a full set of dates in the near future.

You In Reverse Track Listing

1. “Goin’ Against your Mind”
2. “Traces”
3. “Liar”
4. “Saturday”
5. “Wherever You Go”
6. “Conventional Wisdom”
7. “Gone”
8. “Mess With Time”
9. “Just a Habit”
10. “The Wait”

Built to Spill official site
Built to Spill myspace official profile

Get headlines for FREE on your mobile phone! Just text SPIN to 68423 to sign up. It’s one message per day, Monday thru Friday, bringing you all the news that rocks, minus the carpal tunnel.