Skip to content

A Ghost is Reborn: Wilco Releases Live Album

Wilco stopped trying to break your heart, but now they want to kick your television: The band will release its first live album, Kicking Television, on November 15. A new incarnation of Wilco appears on Kicking, according to The quartet added two new members, acclaimed guitarist and solo artist Nels Cline and Pat Sansone on keyboards. Wilco as a six-piece is also at work on new material, which frontman Jeff Tweedy hopes will be finished sometime next year. The band already has some thirteen songs recorded, including a track called “I’m Talking to Myself About You,” which Wilco has been playing at live shows. Tweedy says “I’m Talking…” is “about as straightforward and as dumb as anything I’ve ever written, but musically it’s really exciting and fun to play.” Wilco will play a benefit for hurricane victims tomorrow night in Chicago.

Kicking Television track listing:

Disc 1:

1. “Misunderstood”
2. “Company in My Back”
3. “The Late Greats”
4. “Hell is Chrome”
5. “Handshake Drugs”
6. “I Am Trying to Break Your Heart”
7. “Shot In the Arm”
8. “At Least That’s What You Said”
9. “Wishful Thinking”
10. “Jesus, etc.”
11. “I’m the Man Who Loves You”
12. “Kicking Television”

Disc 2:

1. “Via Chicago”
2. “Hummingbird”
3. “Muzzle of Bees”
4. “One by One”
5. “Airline to Heaven”
6. “Radio Cure”
7. “Ashes of American Flags”
8. “Heavy Metal Drummer’
9. “Poor Places”
10. “Spiders (Kidsmoke)”
11. “Comment”

Wilco official site

Get headlines for FREE on your mobile phone! Just text SPIN to 68423 to sign up. It’s one message per day, Monday thru Friday, bringing you all the news that rocks, minus the carpal tunnel.