• 110519-gaslight-anthem.png

    PREMIERE: Gaslight Anthem's Divorce Video

    New Jersey rockers Gaslight Anthem have made a video for "Bring It On," a stand-out track from last year's stellar American Slang - and SPIN has the premiere of it here.In the clip, directed by Kevin Slack, the band got their pal Dave Hause of the Philly punk band Loved Ones to play a starring role. "The song is a true to life kind of story about a guy who's left behind in a divorce," Fallon tells SPIN, adding that drummer Benny Horowitz' brother plays the role of the "suave other man." "So the video reflects that directly - it's very literal."After Gaslight perform a string of European dates starting next month, Brian Fallon willfocus on his side project the Horrible Crowes, who will release their debut album this September.

  • 110512-living-things.png

    Living Things Plan Triple Album, Drop Epic Video

    After releasing two albums with major label Jive, agit-rockers Living Things are going indie with the formation of their own record imprint Brotherly — and they've got ambitious plans to release a 27-track, triple-disc record titled this year, with help from studio legend Steve Albini."We're doing the entire thing by ourselves," frontman Lillian Berlin tells SPIN. "Two of the nine-track albums we're gonna produce, and we're going to have Steve do the third one. These days, you can just download a single if you want it, but I still listen to entire albums, and I think we're going to put it out as just one massive file."Berlin says the new material was inspired by a cross-country road trip he took recently and the record will follow a concept that explores the American condition in the 21st century.

  • 110509-dale-earnhardt-jr-jr.png

    PREMIERE: Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr.'s Dreamy Pop

    Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. first showed up on our radar in the fall, when the Detroit indie pop duo made SPIN's list of must-hear bands at CMJ, and, later, they built the buzz at SXSW. Now, the guys are gearing up to drop their debut full-length, It's a Corporate World, on June 7 -- hear "Skeletons" here. LISTEN: Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr., "Skeletons" Much like DEJJ's breakout EP Horse Power, "Skeletons" is a delicate gem, merging subtle instrumentation -- a kick drum, nylon string guitar, some soft-beating percussion -- with Josh Epstein's graceful vocals and Daniel Zott's melodic harmonies giving it an intimate, dreamy pop feel.

  • 110509-bon-iver.png

    Bon Iver Plots Summer Tour

    The reasons to look forward to summer 2011 keep stacking up. On June 21, Bon Iver will release their self-titled second album, the much-anticipated follow-up to their 2008 breakout debut For Emma, Forever Ago. And now mastermind Justin Vernon has announced plans to hit the road for a 16-date summer tour — and he's bringing along a handful of the stellar musicians that helped record Bon Iver along for the ride. Violinist and guitarist Rob Moose (Antony and the Johnsons, the National), bassist Mike Lewis (Andrew Bird), and horn players Colin Stetson (Tom Waits, Arcade Fire) and C.J. Camerieri (Rufus Wainwright, Sufjan Stevens) are among the special guests set to join Vernon's eight-member band.

  • 110509-face-to-face.png

    PREMIERE: Face to Face Return With Punk Anthem

    After forming in 1991, Face to Face established themselves as one of the most kick-ass bands of the SoCal punk scene, alongside peers like Blink-182, Guttermouth, Pennywise, and others. The group's glory was short lived: creative differences forced them to break up in 2003, and despite touring behind their classic material since reuniting in 2008, they haven't recorded any new music. That will all change this month as the group celebrates their 20th anniversary: Face to Face will release their first new album, titled Laugh Now, Laugh Later, in almost a decade on May 17.

  • 110414-ponytail.png

    Art-Rockers Ponytail Drop Smooth(ie) Clip

    Since their debut album Kamehameha in 2006, Baltimore's Ponytail have become one of art-rock's best new bands, with unhinged, spastic guitar jams featuring singer Molly Siegel's awesomely unintelligible shrieks and yelps. It's party-starting music for the ADD set. And the group is keeping the positive momentum going on their just-released third LP Do Whatever You Want All The Time. SPIN has the premiere of the video for standout cut "Honey Touches."The clip - directed by Bill Benz and Mike Giambra, also known as MENZ - chronicles "man's everlasting battle with fruit and the pursuit of making the ultimate smoothie," the directors tell SPIN. They're right: It kicks off, literally, with a martial artist roundhouse-kicking flying watermelons in slo-mo ninja style. But then things get really weird. Watch for yourself.WATCH: Ponytail, "Honey Touches" Scalable, non-watermarked

  • 110413-g-side.png

    Hot Rappers G-Side Drop Hometown Clip

    Huntsville, Alabama, hip-hop duo G-Side, aka rappers Yung Clova and ST 2 Lettaz, are on the rise. They were named one of SPIN's Best New Artists in February, and landed in the pages of our May issue as a Breaking Out. Now we're premiering the video for "Came Up," off their new album The ONE... COHESIVE. "We went back to the block," ST tells SPIN of the clip, filmed in their Huntsville 'hood. "We back to where we came from -- back to the basics to show where we came up from." Adds Clova, "We wanted to show people our hometown." Over keyboards, a grooving beat, and atmospheric effects, the duo spit about their rags to riches career as they coast through town in car, and hang out in dilapidated housing projects, while two ladies add melancholy melodies on the violin. Think HBO's The Wire meets the Dirty South. WATCH: G-Side, "Came Up"

  • 110411-arctic-monkeys.png

    Arctic Monkeys Go Heavy on Album Single

    Arctic Monkeys debuted a new track last month with the track "Brick By Brick," and now the British group have dropped the first single from the album Suck It and See, due out June 7. Stream "Don't Sit Down 'Cause I've Moved Your Chair" here. Where the Monkeys dipped into classic rock psychedelia on "Brick by Brick," they veer into heavier hard rock terrain on this number, which features sludgy, stoner-rock guitar riffs and a fat-bottomed, low-end groove. In fact, the gritty vibe recalls Queens of the Stone Age, which would make sense considering frontman Josh Homme co-produced the band's 2009 Humbug and makes a guest appearance on the new album.

  • 110404-mountain-goats.png

    The Mountain Goats Unplug for SPIN

    North Carolina's the Mountain Goats, led by the devoutly worshipped singer-songwriter John Darnielle, just dropped their 18th album, All Eternals Deck -- one of their best to date.

  • 110330-fleet-foxes.png

    See Fleet Foxes in the Studio and on Tour

    If Seattle six-piece Fleet Foxes' pastoral folk tunes don't already make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside, well, their new video certainly will. Their homespun clip for "Grown Ocean" off their May 3 release Helplessness Blues -- a SPIN must-hear album for 2011 -- is like a picture book of the band's fondest memories. Color-tinted lo-fi footage (think the Hipstamatic iPhone photo app) captures the guys -- and their friends and family -- in the studio and on tour. It's all snow-capped mountains, lakes, forests, romps in the summer grass, and lots and lots of laughs and smiles. Ahhh... memories. WATCH: Fleet Foxes, "Grown Ocean"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA