• panic-fox-main.jpg

    Panic's Brendon Urie Plays Comic-Con!

    It's fair to say that the mark of a good singer-songwriter is his ability to hush a chatty crowd simply by letting it fly. But most good singer-songwriters aren't competing for attention with sextress Megan Fox and a room full of movie geeks at San Diego's Comic-Con. "Keep drinking, get really wasted," the Panic at the Disco frontman advised the crowd on the rooftop Kin Lounge at the Manchester Grand Hyatt before launching into "Nine in the Afternoon." "Otherwise this isn't going to be any fun." Urie remained humbly playful throughout his three-song solo acoustic set at this party to raise awareness of the upcoming Fox-starring, Diablo Cody-scripted horror flick, Jennifer's Body. But while a dozen or so fans gazed up adoringly at the singer, most of the other 200-odd schmoozers in the crowd seemed a bit more focused on the drinking and getting wasted aspect of the evening.

  • 090402-lily-allen-main.jpg

    Lily Allen Kicks Off U.S. Tour

    "Fuck you. Fuck you very, very much," screamed the approving crowd packed into San Diego's House of Blues Wednesday night to see Lily Allen kick off her first American tour in nearly two years. (See 10 photos from the show here.) As Allen told the fans, the tune "Fuck You" off her new album, It's Not Me, It's You, is political in nature: "This song was written about Bush while he was in office, but I still think it's good." With middle fingers extended in the air alongside Allen's, fans chanted along to the Anti-Bush lyrics: "So you say that it's not okay to be gay / Well, I just think that you're evil." But that's about as crass as it gets for Allen these days. Throughout a 19-song set that consisted mostly of cuts from It's Not Me, there was a sense that we were all witnessing a new, and in some ways improved, Allen.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA