Philip Sherburne



  • Jamie xx

    Jamie xx Plays Mr. Sandman on 'Sleep Sound'

    Jamie xx's "Sleep Sound" has been floating around for a while now, as ephemeral as the title would suggest. It first surfaced last November as an untitled rip from the xx-man's Live at Night + Day Berlin mix for Red Bull Music Academy; a few weeks later, when he concluded his BBC Radio 6 set with the spongy, 2-step-meets-doo-wop jam, we learned that it was called "Sleep Sound." Now Young Turks have uploaded the full song to YouTube, in all its pneumatic glory. The song is accompanied by a computer rendering of what appears to be a pink gum eraser, which makes sense, given the way the song can clear out a wide swath of soothing empty space in even the most cluttered psyches. Fire it up, close your eyes, and feel the world melt away."Sleep Sound" comes out May 6 via Young Turks, accompanied by the new song "Girl"; pre-orders for iTunes downloads and 12-inch vinyl are open now.

  • Hprizm

    Anti-Pop's Hprizm Draws a New Map for Fourth-World Boom Bap

    Kyle Austin is on a mission. Or, as he puts it, "a caffeinated mission," to be precise. Trying to navigate a transatlantic time difference, we had scheduled our interview for 5 a.m. Philadelphia time — his choice — only to scuttle it, due to the vagaries of Skype. Six hours later, I've finally got him on the horn, and he tells me that he still hasn't slept. "My sleeping pattern is kind of erratic," he says, "so I'll just go 'til I crash, and wake up and keep going."Austin's circadian arrhythmia certainly gels with the music he makes in his Hprizm guise.

  • Boots,

    Hear Beyoncé Collaborator BOOTS' Smoldering 'Ride Ride Ride'

    The producer known only as BOOTS had just about the most public artistic debut possible; that'll happen when you co-write and produce several songs on a Beyoncé album, especially one like last December's Beyoncé, which was met with the kind of fanfare that once greeted the arrival of comets. (See SPIN's Complete Guide to Understanding the 44 Names in Beyoncé's Beyoncé Credits.)Since then, however, the Brooklyn-based, Roc Nation-signed musician has kept his profile at nearly Burial-like levels of low, surfacing only to grant a fascinating interview with Pitchfork. In their talk, BOOTS comes across as both guarded — as you might expect, given the tsunami of interest that followed Beyoncé's splashdown — and also unusually candid.

  • Dub Thompson Dograces Dead Oceans

    Watch Dub Thompson's Fuzzed-Out 'Dograces' Video

    The video for Dub Thompson's "Dograces" looks a little bit like a long-lost cable-access broadcast recorded to VHS and unearthed in the moldy recesses of some rural storage unit. The song comes from the band's forthcoming debut album, 9 Songs. Core members Matt Pulos and Evan Laffer recorded the record last August while living with Foxygen's Jonathan Rado in Bloomington, Indiana, and the sticky fingerprints of the Midwestern summer are all over the recording. Whole generations of basement-tape shenanigans are baked into their lurching, overdriven sound, alternatingly stripped-down and blown-out: Big Black, Liars, the Fall, and even the Burning Sensations' version of Jonathan Richman's "Pablo Picasso," whose ropy bass line and sardonic delivery directly inform "Dograces"' Roto-Rooter blues.9 Songs is out June 10 on Dead Oceans.

  • William Tyler

    William Tyler's 'Whole New Dude' Is a Rootsy Road-Trip Epic

    William Tyler never shies away from the Big Themes. Last year's Impossible Truth, his second LP under his own name and first for Merge, was a finger-picking paean to the destruction of Los Angeles informed by heavy tomes like Mike Davis' Ecology of Fear and Barney Hoskyns' Hotel California, and evoking American roots music at its most expansive."This is cyclical, spiritual, innately visual music, as striking in the background as it is intense on headphones," wrote SPIN's David Bevan."Whole New Dude," a song from the Nashville guitarist's upcoming Lost Colony EP, is cut from similarly generous cloth. The title stems from a conversation Tyler had with Hiss Golden Messenger's M.C. Taylor regarding Julian Jaynes' The Origin of Consciousness in the Breakdown of the Bicameral Mind (short version: Primitive Monkey Person discovers fire, straightens up into a Whole New Dude).

  • Banks

    BANKS' Cover of Aaliyah's 'Are You That Somebody' Is Heavenly

    One of the highlights of BANKS' Hype Hotel set at SXSW last week was a sublime cover of Aaliyah's "Are You That Somebody," correctly identified by our own Jem Aswad as "Timbaland's greatest gift to the world." ("Like an R&B Singin' in the Rain, wrote Charles Aaron when we dubbed it one of SPIN's Top 20 Singles of the '90s, back in 1999.)Yesterday, the Los Angeles singer pulled up a stool in BBC Radio 1's Live Lounge and knocked out a heavenly cover of the song.

  • Y.O.U

    Y.O.U's 'Heavy Crown (DyE Remix)' Is Rapturous Electro-Pop

    "Everything will be just fine," Elliott Williams sings on "Heavy Crown," and as the post-punky pop of his debut single builds to a rapturous climax of fuzzy guitars and bubbling horns, even the perennially pessimistic may find themselves briefly convinced. Things are certainly looking up for Williams, a.k.a. Y.O.U, a Manchester singer, songwriter, and electronic producer that Tigersushi's Joakim Bouaziz recently took under his wing, and who recently signed to Play It Again Sam.Junior Boys' Jeremy Greenspan recently gave "Heavy Crown" a flickering, synth-heavy remix (listen and download at XLR8R), and now Tigersushi's own DyE (so many ungoogleable names!) puts his own clubby, '80s-kissed touch to the original.

  • YG played Jimmy Kimmel Live, bonus song 459 feat. Natasha Mosley

    YG Rocks On 'Kimmel' With Jeezy, Shares Moody Bonus Cut '459'

    Compton rapper YG has shared a bonus cut available on the Best Buy version of his major-label debut, My Krazy Life, which hits shelves this week. Set to DJ Mustard's typically spare production — gun-cocks, piano, Pac-Man death bleeps — "459" is a trunk-rattling slow-roller in SoCal's finest G-funk tradition.

  • Tyler, the Creator SXSW gig riot lawyer

    Tyler, the Creator's Attorney Claims SXSW Gig Was No Riot

    It all depends upon your definition of "riot."Following Tyler, the Creator's arrest on Saturday for "encouraging behavior causing an immediate danger and injury to persons" at his overcrowded, overamped SXSW performance last Thursday, the Odd Future rapper's attorney released a statement this morning arguing that Tyler's actions do not constitute incitement.As reported by Associated Press, the statement released by attorney Perry Q. Minton argues, "At no time during the ...

  • Flume,

    Flume and Ghostface Killah Get Animated in 'Space Cadet' Video

    Last fall, Flume invited Autre Ne Veut and Ghostface Killah aboard the S.S. "Space Cadet" (well, aboard the deluxe edition of his self-titled debut album, anyway), and the three blazed a trail to the outer limits of the pop universe. Now, the production team behind the animated web series Forest City Rockers delivers a video that's every bit as colorful, kinetic, and just plain odd as Flume and company's blissfully bleepy tune, complete with walking pyramids, an atomic boombox, and Ghostface opening up his chest to reveal a den full of furry critters. Is it any wonder that Forest City Rockers also has an episode called "420 Friendly"?

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA