• 110328-death-cab.png

    Death Cab Return With Uplifting Guitar Anthem

    When SPIN caught up with Death Cab for Cutie's Ben Gibbard last year to talk about the band's upcoming Codes and Keys (out May 31), the singer said he wanted to move beyond the brooding, self-loathing lyrics of 2008's Narrow Stairs for a more upbeat record. "I didn't want to write those songs again," he said. Gibbard kept his word. The band's first single from Codes and Keys was released Monday, and the track proves Gibbard — who recently moved from Washington to Los Angeles with his wife, actress Zooey Deschanel — is in a happier state of mind these days, especially when he sings uplifting lyrics like "There's nothing to fear / Save the tears, save the tears." Sonically, Death Cab have also moved beyond the studied kraut-rock-inspired grooves of their last record for peppier swing.

  • 110329-flaming-lips-indian.png

    Flaming Lips, Neon Indian Drop Wild Bowie Shoutout

    Earlier this year, Flaming Lips' frontman Wayne Coyne told SPIN that he was teaming up with Neon Indian's Alan Palomo and longtime producer Dave Fridmann for a couple of collaborative tunes. "That shit should be ready to go pretty quickly," Coyne promised. No kidding: four tracks, which are pressed on a reportedly sold-out limited-edition 12-inch single, have already leaked online. True to form, they've got some crazy titles: "Is David Bowie Dying?," "Alan's Theremin," "You Don't Respond," and "Do You Want New Wave or Do You Want the Truth Part 2." On "Is David Bowie Dying?," Coyne and Co. deliver a wild, six-and-a-half-minute psychedelic odyssey that sounds like something Brian Eno could cook up if he recorded withUmmagumma–era Pink Floyd.

  • 110322-daft-punk.png

    PREMIERE: Crystal Method Remix Daft Punk's 'Tron'

    On April 5, Daft Punk's soundtrack for Tron: Legacy will get the full-blown remix treatment, featuring re-tweaked cuts of the orchestral-dance soundtrack by top electronic artists like Moby, Boys Noize, M83, Teddybears, Paul Oakenfold and others. We've got an exclusive premiere of standout track "The Grid," as remixed by dancefloor masters Crystal Method. Daft Punk's ominous original - which the duo cut with an 85-piece orchestra and rounded out with movie dialogue from Jeff Bridges - gets revamped by the Crystal Method to sound like a club-banger for the apocalypse, with zooming synth lines that slowly get replaced by the swelling strings of the movie's main theme. Nice. Disney, which is releasing the soundtrack, is also putting out a limited-edition vinyl release for Record Store Day.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA