Michael Gallucci

  • 100707-smashing-pumpkins-main.jpg

    Smashing Pumpkins Launch Tour in Cleveland

    The Smashing Pumpkins that kicked off their new tour at Cleveland's sweltering House of Blues Tuesday night aren't the same Smashing Pumpkins you know and love. But for parts of the 20-song, two-hour-plus show, it didn't matter. Billy Corgan and the new band (guitarist Jeff Schroeder, drummer Mike Byrne, and bassist Nicole Fiorentino) ran through the Smashing Pumpkins songbook -- spanning 1993's Siamese Dream to the recent Teargarden by Kaleidyscope, an online work-in-progress that has Corgan releasing free downloads of new songs as he finishes them. The tour will take the band to 15 U.S. cities for shows in intimate venues (read our review of their Viper Room warm-up set here). It's a welcome change from the arena-size bloat of recent Pumpkins tours, but Corgan's songs often reach for arena-size grandeur.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA