• Wallwork & RZR

    Wallwork & RZR Deliver Post-Regional Club on 'Mad Techno Invasion' EP

    Mad Techno Invasion is the first outing from London-based future bass duo Wallwork & RZR, who cut their teeth as ghost producers for some of UK's finest. Their new EP, out July 14th on Montreal label Infinite Machine, is five tracks of noisy, overdriven machine music that stretches Detroit electro and UK garage into a vortex of post-regional bass music. With its distorted 808 hits and damaged basslines, the record veers in and out of lo-fi territory, repurposing iconic rave sounds for the Tumblr generation. "The release is called Mad Techno Invasion [because] we live in crazy technological times," the duo recently told Big Up Magazine.

  • Tycho

    Com Truise Turns Tycho's 'Awake' Into a Blissful Daydream

    Hot on the heels of California synth-pop trio Tycho's second full-length album, Awake, New York via Ann Arbor's iconic Ghostly International tapped Com Truise to remix the release's idyllic title track. The album saw Tycho transform from a solo act consisting of San Francisco-based artist and designer Scott Hansen to a live four-piece band. Now supported by full-time members Zac Brown on guitar and bass, and Rory O' Connor on drums, Hansen says, "This is, in many ways, the first true Tycho record." With Com Truise's rendition of "Awake," the New York-based remixer stays true to true to form, layering Tycho's weightless guitar strokes over cyber-punk synths and beefy slow jam drums.

  • Bag Raiders

    Bag Raiders Serve Worldly, Modern Disco on 'Nairobi'

    The LA-based Australian duo Bag Raiders are in the midst of recording a long-awaited, upcoming album; the band's first full-length release since their 2010 self-titled debut. In the meantime they've been working on an EP entitled Nairobi/Savannah to hold their fans over. On the EP's lead single, "Nairobi," the pair take their ornate electro-pop sound and deconstruct it for the dance floor. With marimba melodies that soar atop nimble conga rhythms, cowbells, and a funky, relentless guitar riff, the track brings much-needed personality to the tech-house palette. While fans should expect a more embellished strain of radio-ready electronic pop from their forthcoming release, "Nairobi" and it's club-ready follow-up "Savannah" are equally powerful servings of worldly modern disco.

  • Riton

    Riton Brings Funk-Laden Electro to 'Bad Guy RiRi' EP

    After listening to British DJ and producer Riton's new Bad Guy RiRi EP, it might be tempting to quip that "Ed Banger Records is back." In actuality the label has never really left. In recent years, the gritty, penultimate French dance label that broke acts like Busy P, Mr. Oizo, and the blog-house princelings Justice, have just opted for glossier club stylings than those reflected in their massive, electro-obsessed popularity in the mid-'00s. Releases from pop-loving acts like Breakbot, Feadz, and Laurent Garnier show that these sweaty club-kids are growing up a bit.With the four-track Bad Guy RiRi EP, Riton puts a funk-laden spin on Ed Banger's classic, muscular French house sound. The album's standout track, "The Same," features French vocalist Irfane, channeling '80s art-pop with dramatic synth drums, cowbells, and a distinct neon-colored aura.

  • Nadus

    Stream Nadus' Shimmering, Club-Fueled Ode to His Hometown on 'Broke City'

    Newark-based club producer Nadus has played an essential role in connecting New Jersey’s hyper-local club sound to the wide world. Flanked by fellow members of the Brick Bandits DJ collective—Sliink, Uniique, Tameil, Tim Dolla, and others—the DJ has carved a space out for himself by bridging bass music bubbles from all over the world. While many of his Jersey contemporaries have a sound that sticks closer to home, Nadus has made moves with everyone from the Chicago-centric Teklife crew to the Belgian independent label Pelican Fly, who released this most recent EP.On Broke City, Nadus draws on the hypercolor, synth-soaked sounds associated with future bass stars like Cashmere Cat, Rustie, and Canblaster, filtering theatrical MIDI arrangements through the raw-and-ready rhythms of Jersey club music.

  • David Douglas

    Stream David Douglas' Sun-Kissed Electronica on 'Moon Observations'

    Dutch producer David Douglas' new album, Moon Observations, is an 11-track journey through sun-kissed disco mutations and gentle electronic pop. On the new LP, due May 22 on Atomnation, Douglas looks towards the wonders of the natural world for inspiration, weaving organic textures and contoured field recordings in alongside more robotic landscapes and dub-wise studio tricks.Douglas sites his namesake, David Douglas, a Scottish plant hunter and naturalist who explored North America in the 18th century, as the driving inspiration behind Moon Observations. "When I was writing new songs for my full-length album, I was reading the journals that [he] kept during his journeys through North America," the artist recounts.

  • Young Magic

    Mark McGuire Spins Lo-Fi Dreams From Young Magic's 'Fall In'

    While Mark McGuire's rework of New York duo Young Magic's "Fall In" may require patience, it's well worth the wait. The original version of the track is a piece of psychedelic pop from the pair's recently released Breathing Statues, an album that weaves clicking drum machines around wide swathes of synths and listless vocal harmonies. Here McGuire, formerly of the cosmic trio Emeralds, takes the song's phantasmagoric wall of shoegaze and building it into a hissing, ethereal, lo-fidelity dream beat. Intentionally or otherwise, the track ultimately fits the band's vision; one where liberally applied coats of reverb tell the story of a sleepwalker's journey through organized chaos. Listen to the track below.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA