Marylouise Price

  • 080520_mudhoney.jpg


    What? Sparking twenty blazing birthday candles today (May 20) are seminal grunge mainstay Mudhoney and longtime label Sub Pop Records, honoring their double-decade partnership by releasing the band's eighth full-length album The Lucky Ones, plus a remastered deluxe-edition of 1990's hard-hitting Superfuzz Bigmuff. Recalling their early sound, the new album sees the boys ditch sludgy, grunge traces and return to their garage-punk roots. Touches of 1991's Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge can be heard in "And The Shimmering Lights," while the fuzzy distortion of Mudhoney's 1989 self-titled debut is evident elsewhere. The candles are definitely ablaze in '08, but let's hope Mark Arm and crew refrain from blowing them out for at least another twenty years. Who?

  • 080127_superfurryanimals_main.jpg

    Super Furry Animals Are Your 'Venus'

    Featuring a peeled down jam session of their greatest hits, alongwith an introduction of some news ones in celebration of their upcomingrelease, Hey Venus!,Super Furry Animals made a stop at Brooklyn's Music Hall ofWilliamsburg Friday night (Jan. 25). Famous for over a decade oftheatrical projections, light shows, and special sound features, theWelsh psych pop outfit took things down a notch this time around,gracing the stage in scruffy garb to leave all concentration on thetunes -- they even allowed fans to choose the setlist via their website. Afterseveral signature Beach Boys-esque pop songs and a couple new cuts(including new single "Run-Away"), the tinkering music box of "She'sGot Spies" sent the audience gazing about the room with the forlorneyes of teenagers at a high school dance.

  • Duran Duran Paint the Town 'Red'

    "Broadway, to us, has been a dream for quite a few years," proclaimed Simon Le Bon,frontman for seminal new wavers Duran Duran, as he made his way intothe Ethel Barrymore Theater through a sea of paparazzi flashbulbs,reporters, and screaming fans Friday (Nov. 2), night two of their10-date run, sponsored by Citi. Celebrating the release of Red Carpet Massacre, their first album since 2004's Astronaut,the group answered questions about the album, on which theycollaborated with Justin Timberlake and Timbaland. "[Working with them]was a real gift," noted bassist John Taylor. "[Timbaland] is all thingsto all people." Despite the band's rocky past, Le Bon was extremelyexcited about the new production. "It's funky, edgy, very modern," heexplained. "We took a lot of risks with it. You know, Duran Duran is anexperimental group.

  • Calvin Harris Takes Over America -- Karaoke-Style

    An odd collection of media associates and friends were invited to celebrate Calvin Harris' coming to America and his album debut, I Created Disco last night (Sept. 11). And the only way to commemorate such an occasion was to do it up, karaoke-style. For nearly three hours, a small crowd collected their strongest liquid courage to show their own star qualities at iBop in NYC's Koreatown neighborhood, bangin' out tunes such as AC/DC's "It's a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock'n'Roll)" and Britney Spears' "Toxic," but it was Harris's rendition of Snoop Dogg's "Let's Get Blown" that got the party started. Next, the boyishly handsome Harris delivered his savory U.K. chart smash "The Girls," shaking iBop's electric neon walls -- and some booties of some unnamed maidens in the room.

  • The Return of the Von Bondies

    After a brief hiatus from the stage, Detroit garage rockers the Von Bondies made their long-awaited return to NYC's Mercury Lounge Friday evening (Sept. 7) for what was their first show in nearly three years. And the hour-long performance can most easily be summed up by the gigantic whites of singer/guitarist Jason Stollsteimer's eyes -- and man, does he have some crazy ones! After a brawling guitar-driven set from Massachusetts-bred openers the Charms, the Von Bondies blasted a packed house of an eclectic group of onlookers -- half crushing each other with the excitement of being privy to new material by the band, and the other half with drunkenness -- barreling through several garage-pop driven tunes from their sophomore long-player, Pawn Shoppe Heart, before revealing the new goods from their forthcoming follow up, Love, Hate, and Then There's You.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA