Marc Hogan



  • Jay-Z

    Hear Jay-Z's Full, 'Kingdom Come'-Era Outtake 'Dead Presidents III'

    Jay-Z's followers got at least one treat from the Magna Carta Holy Grail rapper's surprise Twitter conversation yesterday. With Hova's blessing, producers Just Blaze and Young Guru liberated the previously unreleased, "original" version of "Dead Presidents III," a track with a crucial history for Jay-Z. Still, while the ruminative, string- and keys-enshrouded song is a refreshing palate cleanser after Jay's latest album, in that he impresses us with his rhymes rather than his possessions, it's ultimately just that: a piece of history.The original "Dead Presidents" was a non-album single that helped launch Jay-Z's career, built around a sample from Nas that recurs here, along with the basic instrumental framework.

  • The-Dream, Jay-Z, 'Magna Carta Holy Grail,' interview

    Jay-Z Knocked Out Most of 'Magna Carta Holy Grail' in Two Weeks, Says The-Dream

    Jay-Z finished most of Magna Carta Holy Grail in two weeks, Terius Nash has revealed. "The body, the significant part of this album?" the singer and songwriter better known as The-Dream said in a video interview with Revolt TV. "Two weeks of work. Easily."The man behind such hits as "Umbrella" and "Single Ladies" also said that in an era where album sales no longer reflect an artist's cultural reach, artists should follow Jay-Z's lead and partner with corporate brands. "Everybody should do that," The-Dream said. "I should be over at Mountain Dew ...

  • Frank Ocean

    Frank Ocean Rarities Dubiously Collected on Bootleg Vinyl

    In the absence of official Frank Ocean vinyl albums, bootleg releases continue to pop up online. An unlicensed double-LP edition of Ocean's channel ORANGE has been floating around for at least nine months now.

  • M.I.A.

    M.I.A. Documentary Director Quits in Dramatic Social-Media Dispute

    An in-the-works M.I.A. documentary has run into trouble in a very public way. On July 7, M.I.A. retweeted several links to a teaser of the documentary, which she announced last year. The director, Steve Loveridge, posted the teaser to YouTube and embedded it on his Tumblr, but the video has already been taken down due to a copyright infringement claim from global record industry group the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry. The teaser included clips of interviews with Kanye West, Switch, Spike Jonze, XL's Richard Russell, and Interscope's Jimmy Iovine. (You can still watch it below, for now, via DDotOmen.) Loveridge signaled he was quitting as director of the video project. He posted what he indicated were emails between himself and a representative for Jay-Z's Roc Nation imprint.

  • Franz Ferdinand,

    Franz Ferdinand Take 'Right Action' Out for the Right, Retro-Themed Video

    Franz Ferdinand are coming correct. The first two tracks we've heard from the peppy Scottish post-punks' first album four years — Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action, due out August 27 via Domino Records — are sharp, melodic, and aimed for the same dance floors as their 2004 self-titled debut album's hits like "Michael." The video for one of those songs, near-title track "Right Action," brings the Archdukes of Glasgow back together with Jonas Odell, who directed the video for the debut's smash "Take Me Out." Once again, the new one is a mix of animation and live action, though this time nodding less to the '30s than to the '60s. It's a sleek, unfussy, and entertaining video for a sleek, unfussy, and entertaining song.

  • Jay-Z, 'Magna Carta Holy Grail,' app, virus

    Jay-Z's 'Magna Carta Holy Grail' App Gets Attacked and Cloned by Hackers

    Watch the Phone. No, really, watch your phones. Computer security firm McAfee has found a hacked, cloned version of Jay-Z's Magna Carta Holy Grail app, and this "malware" version sends information about users' devices to a server somewhere every time the phone restarts. (We spotted this via the BBC, but unfortunately we don't mean the "stupid, fun, and stupid fun" MCHG track of that name.)The cloned version of the app was available on pirated sites, according to McAfee; Samsung Galaxy users who grabbed the official app via Google Play should be unaffected.

  • Beck, Jarvis Cocker, 'Song Reader,' London

    Beck Brings 'Song Reader' Off the Page With Jarvis Cocker and Franz Ferdinand in London

    While the United States was celebrating its Independence Day on July 4, Beck was in London liberating his Song Reader material from a format with a much longer history. He performed his sheet-music album live in full for the first time, joined for a concert at the Barbican by Jarvis Cocker, Franz Ferdinand, and Beth Orton. Also on hand were Charlotte Gainsbourg, Joan as Police Woman, Villagers' Conor J O'Brien, the Staves, the Guillemots, Michael Kiwanuka, James Yorkston, and the Pictish Trail. Ed Harcourt and David Coulter provided musical direction. Fireworks!Watch the full ensemble perform finger-snapping, playfully sinister finale "Rough on Rats" above, and check out several other clips below.

  • Jay-Z

    Jay-Z Maybe Won't Perform a Concert on David Letterman's Big Sign

    "Run This Town" may have been a slight exaggeration. New York City has ruined Jay-Z's fun like it was so many ounces of giant soda. As the New York Post reports, citing "sources," city officials have abruptly backtracked on their approval for the rapper's planned July 8 concert on top of the Manhattan marquee for Late Show With David Letterman.The Post previously reported that Jay had received permission to perform on top of the iconic Ed Sullivan Theater in Midtown. The performance would have been in support of Jay's new album Magna Carta Holy Grail, which comes out July 4. One police source "speculated" to the Post — it's the Post, they report speculation — that concerns about "fireworks and terrorism" caused the cancellation.

  • Albert Hammond Jr.

    Similar Strokes: Albert Hammond Jr. Plans an EP on Julian Casablancas' Label

    Albert Hammond Jr. plans to release a new five-song solo EP in September. As Pitchfork points out, the Strokes guitarist revealed on Har Mar Superstar's Nocturnal Emotions podcast the EP will be out on bandmate Julian Casablancas' Cult Records label. Matt Romano, who played drums on Hammond's artful, solid 2008 sophomore solo album, ¿Cómo Te Llama?, pitches in again here, and another longtime cohort, Gus Oberg, contributes production, but otherwise Hammond handles the bulk of the instruments. There's no title, track list, or exact release date just yet. It's almost enough to make you forgive Har Mar Superstar for being a dirty liar.Watch the video for ¿Cómo Te Llama?'s "GfC" below.Strokes Blokes: England's Bromance With New York's Fab Five

  • Annie, 'The A&R EP,'

    Annie Stays Meta on Dance-Pop Anthem 'Back Together,' Written by Little Boots

    Sleek, electronic dance-pop that comments on itself — but not, like, in an annoying way — has been a good lane for Annie. Lovesick thumper "Heartbeats" and snappy bubble-burster "Chewing Gum" established the Norwegian singer as one of the stars of the mp3-blog era with the release of 2004's Anniemal.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA