• Prince Rama's Taraka and Nimai Larson

    Apocalypse, Wow: Behind Prince Rama's Concept Album

    Brooklyn's psychedelic sister act Prince Rama are on a good cosmic trip. Bandmembers' Taraka and Nimai Larson's new album Top 10 Hits of the End of the World, which dropped November 6 on Animal Collective's Paw Tracks label, is a highly conceptual affair, with each song meant to represent the work of a fictional band's biggest post-apocalyptic hit.Despite the album's meta-textual role-playing, the Larsons manage to maintain an impressive continuity, moving with ease from the synth-abetted coos of "Those Who Live For Love Will Live Forever" to the dark and kaleidoscopic chants of "Receive." We caught up with Taraka in the midst of Prince Rama's European tour to learn what (or who?) influenced their curious endeavor.Possession: "The record is all about possession: The present being possessed by the past, the past being haunted by the future, the future being eclipsed by present nostalgia.

  • The Sword / Photo by Sam Holden

    Sabbath and Sci-Fi: Behind the Sword's 'Apocryphon'

    Austin, Texas' sci-fi metal masters the Sword stocked their October 22 album Apocryphon with fantastical lyrics and rollercoaster riffs, but it also evinces a new and exciting rawness. Credit this subtle shift to producer J. Robbins, post-punk hero of Government Issue and Jawbox, for scuffing the Sword. But there's still plenty of deep thinking (and classic rock) to be found on the LP. Before embarking on a nationwide tour, singer-guitarist J.D Cronise talked us through the influences that shaped the album.Jack Vance's Dying Earth series:"There's a song on the record called 'Dying Earth' that was directly inspired by Jack Vance, the author and his works of the same name. He had a series, I don't know if they were full-length novels or novellas, that were called the Dying Earth books.

  • Solid Gold

    Hear Solid Gold's Lonesome Electro-Pop Cut 'The Pendulum'

    Solid Gold is Zach Coulter, Adam Hurlburt and Matthew Locher, a synth-pop threesome who met in a University of Wisconsin architecture class, only to link up with Gayngs bandmate, founder, ringleader and known Twin Cities troublemaker, Ryan Olson, after the release of their 2008 debut Bodies of Water began to generate local buzz. Olson has stepped up now to release their forthcoming Eat Your Young LP via his label Totally Gross National Product, an album set to include the post-indie electro haze of "The Pendulum," a song whose hyper-real sincerity yields the perfect balance of cold wave, new wave and pop: it’s spacious, it’s lonely, and above all else, it’s infectious. Check it out below.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA