Kyle McGovern



  • pussy riot, hbo, documentary, oscars, short list, pussy riot: a punk prayer

    Pussy Riot Film Lands on Oscars Best Documentary Short List

    Pussy Riot could be headed to the Oscars next year — well, in spirit, at least. The Academy of Motion Pictures and Sciences has announced the short list of films vying for a 2014 Best Documentary Feature nomination, and Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer is among the contenders. Produced and directed by Mike Lerner and Maxim Pozdorovkin, the doc follows the much publicized trial of Pussy Riot members Maria Alyokhina, Nadezhda Tolokonnikova, and Yekaterina Samutsevich, who were found guilty of "hooliganism motivated by religious hatred" after staging a February 2012 protest performance against Russian president Vladimir Putin.The film premiered at this year's Sundance Film Festival, where it won the World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award for Punk Spirit. Shortly afterward, HBO acquired the rights to A Punk Prayer and aired the doc on television in June.

  • the orwells, dirty sheets, single, video

    Watch the Orwells' Pervy 'Dirty Sheets' Video

    Last month, the Orwells unveiled their sordid new single, "Dirty Sheets," a song SPIN previously heard live at New York City's Bowery Ballroom, where frontman Mario Cuomo dropped his pants onstage. Now, the Chicago garage-punks have shared the "Dirty Sheets" music video, a grainy clip that keeps up the striptease theme. Director Eddie O'Keefe (regular collaborator to the band and brother to guitarist Matt O'Keefe) lets us peek into the bedroom of a young woman who loves dancing to the Orwells and hates wearing clothes.

  • maynard james keenan, tool, puscifer, a perfect circle

    Puscifer, A Perfect Circle, Failure to Play Maynard's 50th Birthday Party

    Maynard James Keenan turns 50 next spring, and the alt-metal icon is celebrating with a special concert at the Greek Theatre in Los Angeles. Dubbed Cinquanta, the event will take place on Saturday, May 10, and feature live performances by two of Keenan's bands, Puscifer and A Perfect Circle. Also on the bill is recently reunited art-rock unit Failure. According to a statement from Keenan, the band joined after he personally asked them to as a birthday gift."This was the perfect opportunity to tick off one of my bucket list items in the form of a Failure reunion," Keenan said. "What better birthday present could one ever hope for?"Tickets for the shindig go on sale on Friday, December 6, at 10 a.m. PST. A VIP package promising preferred seating and commemorative merch will also be available here on December 5 starting at 10 a.m.

  • jeff the brotherhood

    JEFF the Brotherhood Wrangle Out-of-Print Singles for 7-Inch Box Set

    With the holiday season now in full swing, Infinity Cat Recordings is gift-wrapping a very generous JEFF the Brotherhood box set.

  • u2, bono, joshua tree, grammy hall of fame

    Grammy Hall of Fame 2014 Inductees: U2, Neil Young, Run-D.M.C., Rolling Stones, and More

    Songs by Neil Young, U2, Run-D.M.C., the Sugarhill Gang, Gil Scott-Heron, and the Rolling Stones are among this year's inductees into the Grammy Hall of Fame, the Recording Academy has announced. Once again, 27 iconic recordings are headed for the Grammy Museum in Los Angeles. The class of 2014 includes Neil Young's 1970 album After the Gold Rush; U2's barnstorming 1987 LP The Joshua Tree (the most recently released honoree); Run-D.M.C.'s watershed "Walk This Way" team-up with Aerosmith; the Sugarhill Gang's 1979 game-changer "Rapper's Delight"; the Rolling Stones' 1969 hit "Honky Tonk Women"; George Harrison's 1970 triple-album All Things Must Pass; and Gil Scott-Heron's 1970 single "The Revolution Will Not Be Televised." Some other highlights: Creedence Clearwater Revival landed two recordings in the batch, the 1969 single "Fortunate Son" and 197

  • prince, essence music festival

    Prince Tops Bill for 2014 Essence Music Festival

    Well, Prince already has his next Fourth of July planned out. The Purple One will headline next year's Essence Music Festival, which runs from July 3 through 6 in New Orleans, Louisiana. The upcoming gig will mark Prince's first appearance at the Essence Fest since 2004, when the showcase turned 10.

  • natural child, saturday night blues, dancin with wolves

    Stream Natural Child's Sore-Throated 'Saturday Night Blues'

    Natural Child recently nodded to the past with a cover of the Velvet Underground's "White Light/White Heat," but now the Nashville scamps are looking ahead to their own future. On February 25, Burger Records will drop Natural Child's newest album, Dancin' With Wolves, which comes complete with lead single "Saturday Night Blues," a piano-juiced sing-along destined for dive bar jukeboxes. Stream it below.

  • Morning Parade

    Hear Morning Parade's Cathartic 'Alienation' EP

    Morning Parade will follow up their successful, self-titled 2012 debut album at some point next year, but first, the Essex five-piece are dropping the Alienation EP, due December 10 via U.K. indie SO Recordings. The four-track collection comes bearing anthemic rock choruses, some electronic flourishes, and a bit of hostility towards reality TV."I was going through a bit of a shitty patch and I had some terrible people and influences in my life," singer-guitarist Steve Sparrow says of "Reality Dream," the third song on the Alienation EP. "I decided to make some changes and just started writing down the things that made me unhappy, the things I could no longer accept, things I told myself I would no longer put up with. Things I would no longer be burdened with or frustrated by.

  • the memories, velvet underground, the gift, white light/white heat

    Stream the Memories' Faithful Cover of the Velvet Underground's 'The Gift'

    On December 10, Burger Records will issue The Velvet Underground — White Light/White Heat Tribute Album, a cassette-only full-length that honors the 45th anniversary of the Velvet Underground's White Light/White Heat by collecting covers of the album's six tracks. The upcoming tribute (which arrives the same day as a triple-disc "Super Deluxe Edition" of WL/WH) features contributions from Natural Child, the Memories, Mozes and the Firstborn, Curtis Harding, Mr. Elevator & the Brain Hotel, and Gap Dream.With the compilation's release date fast on the approach, SPIN is premiering every single song included on Burger Records' homage; we've already shared Natural Child's version of the LP's title track, now it's time to unveil "The Gift," as played by Portland outfit the Memories.

  • marilyn manson, bret easton ellis

    Marilyn Manson Impersonates James Franco, Cries During 'The Notebook'

    Bret Easton Ellis recently welcomed his friend and collaborator Kanye West as the very first guest on his podcast. Over the course of a two-part interview, the man behind SPIN's 2013 Album of the Year talked about some of his favorite films and television shows, and also declared himself a "creative genius," even though he can't always spell "creative genius" properly. Now, Ellis has shared a portion of the second interview recorded for the Bret Easton Ellis Podcast, a lengthy talk with Marilyn Manson.Like the conversation with 'Ye, Ellis' discussion with Manson focuses largely on movies and TV.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 2 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26
  • 3 Buzzcocks — "It's Not You" " 02:46
  • 4 The Drums — Magic Mountain " 04:05
  • 5 Jessie Ware — Kind Of...Sometimes...Maybe " 03:46
  • 6 Flying Lotus — Coronus, the Terminator " 02:40

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA