Kyle McGovern



  • sleigh bells, late show with david letterman, bitter rivals, young legends

    Sleigh Bells Bring 'Young Legends' to 'Letterman' With Paul Shaffer

    Sleigh Bells continued their Bitter Rivals tour of the late-night talk show circuit on January 13, following their recent stops at Jimmy Kimmel Live! and Late Night With Jimmy Fallon with an appearance on the Late Show With David Letterman. The former SPIN cover stars champed out a rendition of punchy track "Young Legends," supported by a horn section, a trio of backup singers, and, amazingly, Letterman sidekick Paul Shaffer on piano. Watch the heavy-weight performance above.

  • real estate, atlas, album

    Real Estate Confirm 'Atlas' Album With 'Talking Backwards' Single

    Real Estate will return just in time for the spring. The New Jersey-bred indie rock outfit will release their long-teased third album, Atlas, on March 4 via Domino. Spanning a total of 10 tracks, the upcoming LP follows 2011's sublime Days, and, according to an official announcement, it's the group's "most collaborative and richly detailed album to date."The five-piece — singer-guitarist Martin Courtney, guitarist Matt Mondanile, bassist-singer Alex Bleeker, and new full-time members drummer Jackson Pollis and keyboardist Matt Kallman — recorded Atlas over the summer and fall of 2013 at Wilco's Chicago studio, the Loft.

  • hurray for the riff raff, st. roch blues, video

    Watch Hurray for the Riff Raff Honor New Orleans in 'St. Roch Blues' Video

    Hurray for the Riff Raff is the brainchild of Alynda Lee Segarra, a 26-year-old native New Yorker who grew up in the Bronx, fled home at the age of 17, and eventually settled in New Orleans. On February 11, the roots revivalist will release her newest album, the 12-track Small Town Heroes, due out via ATO Records and currently up for pre-order through iTunes. In advance of the upcoming LP, Hurray for the Riff Raff share the video for "St. Roch Blues," a soulful six-minute tribute to the New Orleans neighborhood of St. Roch that's inspired by a horrifying series of murders that took place in the area in 2011.Directed by Joshua Shoemaker and featuring members of Louisiana outfit the Deslondes, the clip draws a line from Segarra's past to present.

  • Wisconsin's April Base Studios, Sean Carey, S. Carey

    S. Carey Maps Lush Terrain on His Gorgeous New 'Range of Light'

    Sean Carey takes his time. For the past two years, the Bon Iver drummer and backing vocalist has been assembling Range of Light, his second solo album under the slightly pseudonymous moniker S. Carey. "You have to be patient," he says. "You can hear the patience in the music."Due in April through Jagjaguwar, the album was recorded over a handful of four-to-five-day sessions wherein Carey and his backing band would hone in on three or four songs at a time. In one sense, that piecemeal approach mimics the making of Carey's debut LP, 2010's All We Grow, which was also put together across a two-year span, in between bouts of touring with Bon Iver.

  • pow!, hi-tech boom, video

    Watch POW! Play Psychedelic Poker in 'Hi-Tech Boom' Video

    This week, John Dwyer's Castle Face Records will issue its first release of 2014: Hi-Tech Boom, the debut album from San Francisco's POW! To promote their just-minted full-length, the trio — Byron Blum, Melissa Blue, and Aaron Diko — have dropped an official video for the LP's synth-and-bass-driven title track. Directed by Hannah Lew, the clip catches POW! in the midst of a mind-warping poker game. Watch the psychedelic short above.

  • tokyo police club, forcefield, hot tonight

    Tokyo Police Club Confirm 'Forcefield' Album With Jangling 'Hot Tonight'

    Tokyo Police Club will return this spring with their third album. On March 25, Mom + Pop will release Forcefield, the Canadian pop-rock crew's follow-up to 2010's Champ. Clocking in at nine tracks total, the upcoming LP was produced by Doug Boehm (who helmed Girls' 2011 swan song, Father, Son, Holy Ghost) and Tokyo Police Club singer-bassist David Monks, who shared a statement about the creative process behind the long-gestating LP (via Pitchfork)."Since writing started for Forcefield in mid-2011 there have been so many trends and every kind of 'wave,'" Monks said. "We saw them all come and disappear or change into something broader. It left us wanting to make something that would last. We ended up rediscovering energy and guitars and simple, direct songs.

  • nirvana, bleach, lego

    Nirvana's 'Bleach' Album Cover Lovingly Remade With Legos

    This should satisfy your daily quota for Nirvana-related nostalgia: The cover to the band's first album, Bleach, has been re-created using Legos. The image comes courtesy of, which is exactly what it sounds like — a tumblr hosted by someone who remakes famous album covers with digital versions of the beloved toy blocks. Other records highlighted include Bon Iver's self-titled 2011 effort, Vampire Weekend's three LPs, the Strokes' Is This It, the Smiths' The Queen Is Dead, and Nirvana's rarities and B-sides collection, Incesticide.Sub Pop shared the Bleach rendering through Instagram.

  • neko case, austin city limits

    Watch Neko Case Play Her Greatest Hits on 'Austin City Limits'

    Producers with the PBS concert series Austin City Limits recently shared a clip of Neko Case tearing into "Man," a gender-flipping fuck-you that can be found on the singer-songwriter's outstanding sixth album, The Worse Things Get, the Harder I Fight, the Harder I Fight, the More I Love You.

  • mac demarco, salad days, new album, 2014

    Mac DeMarco Previews 'Salad Days' Album With Intimate Session

    Turns out Mac DeMarco was indeed goofing on us when he claimed (via super-NSFW video) that his next album is called Eddie's Dream. As Chart Attack points out, the slop-pop auteur said in a recent interview with Canadian radio station CKUA that his 2 follow-up is actually called Salad Days and it's "out in April, but I'm not supposed to say that."DeMarco also offered a sneak peek at the upcoming LP by performing three new songs during acoustic on-air live session. Stream the performance below, and skip to the 4:18 mark to hear the tender warning "Treat Her Better," move on to 8:38 for the vocal contortions of "Salad Days," and forward to 11:30 for "Let Her Go," an emotionally mature antidote to the "Give me pussy" mission statement DeMarco (hopefully) shared as a joke last week.The 23-year-old tunesmith also performed a few fresh tracks during an acoustic gig in Brooklyn on January 10.

  • dum dum girls, too true, rimbaud eyes

    Dum Dum Girls Salute Dead Poet With Driving 'Rimbaud Eyes'

    Over the last few months, the Dum Dum Girls have shared one-and-a-half songs from their fast-approaching third album, Too True. First came "Lost Boys and Girls Club," then a preview of near-title track "Too True to Be Good," and now, ringleader Dee Dee Penny has let go of another full song from the Only in Dreams successor. Below you'll find "Rimbaud Eyes," a New Wavy nod to 19th-century French poet Arthur Rimbaud. The new track may resemble the Dum Dum Girls' 2011 single "Bedroom Eyes" in name, but its neon-goth color scheme (see the album's Bangerz-biting cover art) is a marked contrast to the sunny, lovelorn Phil Spector-rock the band once championed."I think historically my band is regarded as the band that does like Ramones-y songs and then drowsy ballads or something," Dee Dee said recently.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 KLOË — Grip " 03:24
  • 2 Dead Right! — Rising Tide (Saint Motel Remix) " 03:17
  • 3 The-Dream — Fruition " 04:33
  • 4 A. G. Cook — What I Mean " 04:06
  • 5 Howardian — Be Fruitful " 02:03
  • 6 The Suffers — Make Some Room " 04:34
  • 7 Adventures — Your Sweetness " 04:10

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA