Kyle McGovern



  • trent reznor, david fincher, gone girl, score

    Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross Reunite With David Fincher for 'Gone Girl'

    David Fincher's next feature film Gone Girl will feature an original score by the critically beloved director's go-to fan-adored team: Trent Reznor and longtime collaborator Atticus Ross. The Nine Inch Nails and How to Destroy Angels boss confirmed the news on Twitter today, writing "and yes, Atticus and I are scoring David Fincher's upcoming Gone Girl!" This will be the third Fincher movie that Reznor and Ross have handled, following 2010's The Social Network and 2011's The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.

  • temples, mesmerise, video, sun structures

    Watch Temples' Mysterious, Animated 'Mesmerise' Video

    On February 11, rising psych-rock outfit Temples will drop their debut album, Sun Structures. In advance of the upcoming full-length, which is one of 50 Albums You Gotta Hear in 2014, the English foursome have shared a music video for sun-streaked single "Mesmerise." Directed by Benjael Halfmaderholz, the animated clip follows a tiny floating pyramid as it drifts through a labyrinth that mysteriously emerges from the sands of a desert. In other words, it's a puzzling visual that more than earns its title. Watch "Mesmerise" above, and head over to iTunes to pre-order Sun Structures.

  • mac demarco, salad days, new album, passing out pieces

    Mac DeMarco's 'Passing Out Pieces' Single Brings 'Salad Days' LP Details

    Mac DeMarco recently let slip that his next album would be called Salad Days and that it would be out in April. (He also teased the LP with a joke song about craving "a little bit of pussy," but that's beside the point.) Now, the oddball, often nude crooner has officially announced the details of his new record.The follow-up to 2012's 2 will arrive on April 1 via Captured Tracks and it'll come with a total of 11 songs, including the "Salad Days" title track, "Treat Her Better," and "Let Her Go," three tunes DeMarco played during a New Year's Eve radio session for Canada's CKUA. The April Fool's Day LP will also feature "Passing Out Pieces," the album's wobbly first single. "Can't claim to care / Never been reluctant to share," the 23-year-old DeMarco sings, sounding a bit weary for his age.

  • future islands, seasons (waiting on you), video, singles, album

    Future Islands Tip Hat to Cowboys With 'Seasons (Waiting On You)' Video

    Future Islands' lovelorn synth-pop has its origins in Baltimore, but the East Coast trio set their sights on America's heartland in the new video for "Seasons (Waiting On You)," the opening track from upcoming album Singles. The just-unveiled video once again pairs Future Islands with director Jay Buim, who previously helmed the band's "Tin Man," "Balance," and "Grease" clips. This time, Buim examines the idea of the modern cowboy, an archetype that takes part in rodeos, group prayer, and bar room games of pool, while still holding onto a certain kind of quiet, dignified romance that city slickers have let slip away."For us, sometimes, it's quite spellbinding how Jay can translate our sound into an image," Future Islands frontman Samuel T. Harring says in an official statement.

  • the death set, king babies ep, dim mak records, lite the fuse

    The Death Set Fashion Pizza Bikinis for NSFW 'Lite the Fuse' Video

    The Death Set have returned with the just-unleashed King Babies EP, a four-track set that also has the honor of being the 500th release from Steve Aoki's Dim Mak Records. To promote the new short-player, the Australia-bred, Brooklyn-based trio — now composed of Johnny Siera, Dan Walker, and Will Broussard — have also dropped an official video for "Lite the Fuse," the EP's opening electro-punk assault. Directed by Sofia Szamosi, the clip depicts a sort of, ahem, "adult" pizza party, where slices serve as bikini bottoms and pepperoni bits act as nipple pasties. Watch above, and head over to iTunes to buy the King Babies EP.

  • vampire weekend, modern vampires of the city, hannah hunt, jimmy kimmel live

    Watch Vampire Weekend's Stately 'Kimmel' Double-Header

    Vampire Weekend defended their title of 2013's Band of the Year on January 20, performing a twofer on Jimmy Kimmel Live! The quick-witted foursome opened with "Hannah Hunt," the smoldering centerpiece from their masterful third LP, Modern Vampires of the City (one of SPIN's 50 Best Albums of 2013 and a personal favorite of this writer). VW capped off their one-night stand on the Sony Outdoor Stage with a rendition of "Unbelievers," a jaunty Modern tune the band played on Kimmel for Halloween 2012. Get more acquainted with "Hannah Hunt" above and spend time with "Unbelievers" below.

  • doug tuttle, mmoss

    Stream Doug Tuttle's Psych-Warped, Self-Titled Debut Album

    A few months back, Doug Tuttle showed off his guitar prowess with "Turn This Love," a six-minute stunner from his upcoming, self-titled debut album. Due January 28 via Trouble in Mind Records, the 11-track LP is Tuttle's first solo effort — this time last year, he was a top-ranking member of the now-defunct psych-rock outfit MMOSS. But now, Tuttle is free to do his daytripping on his own. The six-string Cat's Cradle found on "Turn This Love" was only the beginning: Expand your consciousness by streaming the hazy, inspired collection below.

  • sleepy sun, maui tears

    Stream Sleepy Sun's Mammoth Psych-Rock Album 'Maui Tears'

    Last year, SPIN debuted Sleepy Sun's "11:32," a festering psych-garage single from the San Francisco outfit's upcoming fourth album, Maui Tears. Now we're streaming the entire nine-track LP before it officially drops on January 28 via Dine Alone Records. For a mind-melting trip that explores languid space-rock ("Outside"), stoner-waltz delirium ("Everywhere Waltz"), and more, listen below. To pre-order Maui Tears, head over to iTunes.

  • saint motel, my type, video

    See Saint Motel Crash '70s Italian Disco in 'My Type' Video

    Saint Motel are planning to release their sophomore album, the follow-up to 2012's Voyeur, sometime early this year. To kick-off their comeback, the Los Angeles foursome have cut together a music video for recent single "My Type," a four-on-the-floor strut set to appear on the upcoming LP. Directed by Sam Winkler, the video plays off the track's clubby pedigree by dropping lead singer A.J. Jackson into a clip filmed at an Italian discoteca. Watch the vintage visual above, and head over to Saint Motel's website to order a 7-inch featuring "My Type," along the similarly fresh tune "Ace in the Hole."

  • les claypool, duo de twang, man in the box

    Hear Les Claypool's Duo de Twang Cover Alice in Chains' 'Man in the Box'

    Les Claypool follows in the American roots music tradition with Four Foot Shack, the upcoming debut album from his newest project, Duo de Twang. Due February 4 via ATO Records, the 15-track LP features backwoods covers of songs by the Bee Gees, Alice in Chains, and Claypool's main band, Primus, all done with a simple guitar-and-bass arrangement (and filled out with the occasional banjo and mini-tambourine).Claypool and his Duo de Twang partner, longtime friend Bryan Kehoe, recently shared one track from the full-length — a hillbilly rendition of Primus' "Jerry Was a Race Car Driver," heard on Rolling Stone — and now they've let another Shack cut loose.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Emay — MAIR " 04:09
  • 2 Grooms — Doctor M " 06:09
  • 3 The Suffers — Make Some Room " 04:34
  • 4 KLOË — Grip " 03:24
  • 5 Dead Right! — Rising Tide (Saint Motel Remix) " 03:17
  • 6 Howardian — Be Fruitful " 02:03

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA