• The Joy Formidable Need A Quiet Space to Make a Big Noise

    The Joy Formidable Need A Quiet Space to Make a Big Noise

    "There's a real hunger to [record] when you're on the road," says Ritzy Bryan, frontwoman for storm-brewing Welsh alt-rockers The Joy Formidable. Thankfully, she's been able to satiate herself. The trio are currently putting the finishing touches on the as-yet-untitled follow-up to 2011's The Big Roar, tentatively due for release this fall or early next year. "We love life on the road, but [being a musician is] always about variation and we really felt like we had a lot of energy being back in the studio," she says. Bryan, bassist Rhydian Dafydd, and drummer Matt Thomas self-produced the album in a cozy studio outside of Portland, Maine. "I think when you're on the road and you're writing sometimes it's quite chaotic, and occasionally you need some time to reflect on the floods of songs you have going on," continues Bryan.

  • Eric Erlandson

    Ex-Hole Guitarist Eric Erlandson: 'I Still Love Courtney'

    As his searing new memoir, Letters to Kurt, makes clear, ex-Hole guitarist and former Courtney Love beau Eric Erlandson knows that life is a hard journey to navigate. But speaking to us on his hands-free phone, it's the roads of upstate New York that are proving most problematic. "I better pay attention to this one," says Erlandson in response to the GPS's instructions to take the next exit. Keeping a close eye on things is no problem for the Los Angeles native. Kurt, his literary debut, is a collection of searching, self-lacerating letters written in eloquent, highly impressionistic prose. From letter to letter, Erlandson's thoughts drift between thoughts on suicide, drugs, sex, fame, his notorious ex-lead-singer, and society, using Kurt Cobain as his epistolary muse.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA