• Pet Genius

    Who? After the prog-tinged alt-rock outfit Cave Inannounced their hiatus in fall 2006, guitarist/vocalist Stephen Brodskycalled up his former bandmates, drummer John Robert Conners (Cave In,Doomriders) and bassist Johnny Northrup (Octave Museum), to assemblethe psychedelic garage rock of Pet Genius. The trio issued the Elvis UnreleasedEP -- check their MySpace blog for gory details behind the title --before releasing their self-titled full-length in October via the HydraHead label. What's the Deal? Fuller than the WhiteStripes and more plain-spoken than Black Mountain, Pet Genius smartlyplays the line between poppy songwriting and hard pounding riffs.Opener "Doomsday" rips right out of the gate with raw clashing guitarchords and catchy vocals, while the should-be-a-radio-hit "Walls ofEtiquette" trembles with revenge before unleashing an unapologeticblast of rawk thunder.

  • The F**king Eagles

    Who? Though their name possibly stems from a hate-filled music review in The Big Lebowski, these Tacoma, Washington rockers are anything but slackers. After stints in other groups, John Owen Atkins (vocals/guitar), Stu Linkert (drums), Jesse Ray (guitar/vocals) and Dutch Kelly (bass) banded together in 2005. Their studio full-length debut, A Million Dollars Worth of Music, produced by Johnny Sangster (Mudhoney, The Posies, Murder City Devils), was issued via local label Gaptooth Jukebox earlier this year. Playing Bumbershoot's EMP | SFM Sky Church stage Sunday (Sept. 2) at 3:30 P.M. What's the Deal? The Fucking Eagles are bad boys with hearts of gold, flip-flopping between rowdy and righteous. Often compared to the now-defunct Oblivians, the raucous quartet is a distinct breed, employing strutting lyrical antics and infectious, lo-fi guitar chords.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA