David Bevan


Manhattan, NY

  • Peach Kelli Pop / Photo by Lily Chou

    Hear Three Burger Records Jams: New Music From the Go, Peach Kelli Pop, and the Resonars

    Fullerton, California's Burger Records has long been home to up-and-coming hooksmiths (see: Ty Segall, Fletcher C. Johnson, Black Lips, King Tuff and Harlem). It's a label whose garage-rock pedigree is on a level with the likes of In The Red, Goner, HoZac and Douchemaster. Currently halfway through their month-long campaign to release a cassette every day in January, they've also got three full-lengths from three very gifted outfits on the way as well: Ottawa native Allie Hanlon's Peach Kelli Pop project unfurls its self-titled sophomore effort today; the Go, whose lineup once included Jack White, is uncaging FIESTA on January 22; and Matt Rendon's one-man noise-making unit, the Resonars, will unleash Crummy Desert Sound January 29. Hear highlights from all three:  

  • Carter Tanton / Photo by Shawn Brackbill

    Listen to Carter Tanton's Luxury Liners Debut, 'Caribbean Sunset'

    Originally, former Lower Dens member Carter Tanton wanted to record an album of John Cale covers. But when it came down to it last year, Tanton, who has also released records on his own as Tulsa, felt inspired to set off in a new direction entirely. On April 2, the Baltimore singer-songwriter will release They're Flowers, his first full-length under the Luxury Liners moniker and an album that leaves the overcast strummers of 2011's Free Clouds behind for synth-built bliss like that of "Caribbean Sunset," the only remaining Cale cover in the bunch, from the Velvet Underground co-founder's Brian Eno-enriched 1984 LP of the same name.

  • Mudhoney / Photo by Emily Rieman

    Hear Mudhoney's Unforgiving 'The Only Son of the Widow From Nain'

    "We amassed a pile of riffs and ideas, and I went through them and tried to come up with words that suited them," Mudhoney frontman Mark Arm told us last month, describing, in great deadpan, his Seattle outfit's writing process for Vanishing Point, their recently completed ninth full-length studio album. "Pretty exciting." But Mudhoney, now entering their 25th year together, make it sound that easy, as evidenced by the sidewinding riff and acid-splashed narrative ("I'm like the guy in that Devo song") at the center of album highlight "Only Son of the Widow from Nain." Hear it for the first time:

  • waaves

    Wavves Approach the Ledge With Jenny Lewis on New Album 'Afraid of Heights'

    "I feel like I was a real cocky motherfucker when I first started doing this," Nathan Williams says of his Wavves project. "I really believed I was the shit. Now, not so much, but as a songwriter, I think I'm better. You know the tone of [2010's] King of the Beach and the first two records? Like, I 'got no car, got no money,' but, I still got my parents' house to live in so it's not that bad. It could have been much worse, and now, my parents have no money and I'm paying their rent while I'm paying my mortgage. In general, the realness of life starts to hit you later on. That's more prominent on this record."Still tentatively slated to arrive March 26 by way of new label home Mom + Pop, Williams' fourth full-length now has a (tentative) title as well: Afraid of Heights.

  • Parquet Courts / Photo by Heather Strange

    Parquet Courts: New York Post-Punk Geeks Play Fast and Loose

    Who: A Texas-bred, New York-based crew of post-punk geeks who crafted one of 2012's most intriguing guitar records, Light Up Gold, Parquet Courts are led by the tongue-tangling songwriting of singer-guitarists Austin Brown and Andrew Savage. "I was here in New York playing music and Andrew was playing in [Denton, Texas garage-psych duo] Fergus and Geronimo," Brown says of the moment they formed two years ago. "He told me that he had an idea for a new and different band, a New York band." And while they certainly draw inspiration from the city's rich musical and literary traditions, Parquet (which also features bassist Sean Yeaton and Andrew’s brother Max on drums) are just as much a skittering reflection of the city's energy. "I live near an above-ground train," Brown explains, "and it runs through the night.

  • Shannon Whitworth

    Hear Shannon Whitworth's Folk-Pop Heartbreaker 'You Are in Love'

    Since leaving North Carolina bluegrass outfit The Biscuit Burners seven years ago, banjo player-turned-frontwoman Shannon Whitworth has been touring like crazy in support of an increasingly rich songbook of her own. On March 5, Red Eye will release her latest, High Tide, a long-player set to include the winsome but clear-eyed pop of "You Are In Love," streaming for the first time below. Have a listen.

  • California X

    Stream California X's Full Sludge-Pop Debut

    Though California X's cartwheeling, low-end-friendly noise has drawn quick comparisons to Dinosaur Jr. (also, it should be repeated, of Amherst, Mass.), lead vocalist Lemmy Gurtowsky shares little in common with J Mascis. Not a whiner or a wailer, the Happy Valley trio's frontman is, like his band's self-titled debut full-length, direct in a way that recalls Bob Mould and Steve Brooks of Torche instead. But just as Brooks' Miami metal outfit has succeeded in maintaining extraordinarily high sugar levels despite their work's frenetic nature, California X are gifted popsmiths, never allowing the sludge to obscure their many hooks. Hear their debut, due next Tuesday courtesy of Don Giovanni below. 

  • Anamanaguchi / Photo by Mr. Gif

    See Anamanaguchi's Wild, Arcade-Set 'Meow' Clip

    For the clip to new single "Meow," Brooklyn chiptune maniacs Anamanaguchi took to a local arcade for an expectedly bright, sometimes frightening, Daniel Gray Longino- and Eric Notarnicola-directed throwdown that breathes new life into Windows XP as well as a half-dozen vintage video game references. "Meow," also streaming below, is but one highlight on a forthcoming full-length, due soon by way of their own dream.hax label. (.Gif by Mr. Gif) 

  • Steve Adamyk Band

    Hear Steve Adamyk Band's White-Knuckle Pop-Punk Gem 'Katacombs'

    "I sometimes refer to it as the [Washington] D.C. of the north," METZ singer-guitarist Alex Edkins told us a few months ago, when talking about his Toronto post-punk trio's beginnings in Canada's DIY-friendly capital, Ottawa. "It's a government city, so most people work for the government, but there's not so much happening. So what do you do? You start a band." One such outfit is Steve Adamyk Band, purveyors of no-nonsense, snot-glazed pop-punk like "Katakombs," one minute and 16 seconds of hellfire to be heard on the Ottawa foursome's forthcoming sophomore full-length, Third, due later this year on Dirtnap.

  • Rachel Zeffira

    Listen to Rachel Zeffira of Cat's Eyes' Sultry 'Here on In'

    Both a soprano opera singer and classically trained multi-instrumentalist, you may already know Rachel Zeffira's voice from the work she's done with Horrors frontman Faris Badwan in their duo, Cat's Eyes. But the two have also founded their own record label, RAF, responsible of late for the U.K. release of Zeffira's full-length solo debut, The Deserters, a sliver of roiling orchestral pop that features "Here on In," the first single to be made available in North America. It's out tomorrow via Paper Bag and The Deserters is due March 12.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA