David Bevan


Manhattan, NY

  • 111129-head-and-the-heart.png

    First Spin: Hear the Head and the Heart's 'When I Fall Asleep'

    This week, the Head and the Heart released their first iTunes Sessions EP, an exclusive set the Seattle roots enthusiasts put to tape while spearheading their first headlining tour this fall. In addition to alternate versions of "Cats and Dogs" and "Lost in My Mind," standouts from their debut full-length, the EP also includes "When I Fall Asleep," a bouncy new tune turned live staple the band has been sharing onstage for a while now. SPIN's happy to share it here:

  • 111127-fort-lean.png

    Video Premiere: Fort Lean's Hard-Working 'Beach Holiday'

    Fort Lean are a Brooklyn outfit on a roll. The fivesome garnered some noteworthy praise during their sprint through CMJ earlier this fall, and for good reason: Their indie rock is sleeves-rolled-up, no-nonsense jukebox fare, anchored by wild-maned frontguy Keenan Mitchell's massive, vein-popping vocals, a dead ringer for Okkervil River's Will Sheff. The clip below for "Beach Holiday," the opening cut from their self-released EP, finds Mitchell and his bandmates sweating it out behind the counter in East Williamsburg, taking orders from crabby Italian ladies on Graham Avenue. Just as a hard-working Brooklyn band should.Scalable, non-watermarked brightcove.createExperiences();

  • 111127-bon-iver.png

    See a Fresh Clip for Bon Iver's 'Hinnom, TX'

    Tomorrow, Jagjaguwar will release a deluxe edition of Bon Iver's sophomore full-length, a blockbuster effort that helped land the Wisconsin outfit's leader, Justin Vernon, on the cover of SPIN this past summer. As SPIN reported earlier this month, the new edition will included visual accompaniments for each track, including the sun-blistered, Issac Gale and David Jensen-directed clip below for "Hinnom, TX" (via Time).

  • 111123-jealous-guys.png

    Video Premiere: The Jealous Guys' 'Walkin Around'

    The Jealous Guys are Ayinde and BizYCasa, a San Francisco duo who, like their Bay Area colleagues in Main Attrakionz, tend to match their ambient production choices with similarly gooey, psychedelic raps. (See also: their collaboration with Clams Casino, "Brainwashed by London.") SPIN is premiering their new interstellar clip for "Walkin Around," a cut from the twosome's excellent, Jeremy Rose-produced Audiobook EP, which you can download here.brightcove.createExperiences();

  • 111122-so-so-glos.png

    First Spin: The So So Glos' 'Son of an American'

    Earlier this month, SPIN premiered "Lost Weekend", a jittery new cut set to appear on the So So Glos' next full-length, due next spring. Today, less than 24 hours after the New York outfit joined forces with Ted Leo and Titus Andronicus to raise $3,500 for the National Lawyers Guild as part of an #OWS benefit show in Brooklyn, we're happy to share another: "Son of an American" is another slice of sore-throated, smash-mouth punk from a band that looks poised to dish out a whole lot more.

  • 111121-matthew-herbert.png

    Micachu Remixes Matthew Herbert's Pork Dinner

    For One Pig, microhouse producer and found-sound experimentalist Matthew Herbert immortalized one such animal, splicing together audio snippets from its life in chronological order, from birth to the butcher. In its original form, "August 2010" could be considered one of the most sensitive of the set: its opening moments are those of pork in pan, its coda comprised of what happens when that same pork meets taste buds for the very first time. Micachu, of Micachu and the Shapes fame, takes the track and inverts it. The result is a remix that shakes up and illuminates all the magic that happens in between. It's just one part of a digital One Pig remix EP the avant-pop trickster is releasing on December 11 via Accidental.

  • 111122-the-duke-spirit.png

    First Spin: Listen to the Duke Spirit's Full 'Bruiser'

    "It's a bit like being an impressionist: You paint and re-paint and go back to the same spot, just to look at it in different light." That's Liela Moss, frontwoman for the Duke Spirit, speaking on the very studied approach her band took to recording their latest LP, Bruiser, due digitally this week. Written and recorded over the past year, the London band's third LP is a muscular yet elegant offering that almost sounded completely different from what you'll hear below via SPIN's exclusive debut. The group opted to record as a quartet after the departure of guitarist Dan Higgins and put in time with producer Richard File (formerly of U.N.K.L.E.) whose outside influence and dance background had a considerable effect. "We found ourselves working to a grid, putting things down metronomically," Moss says.

  • 111121-twin-shadow.png

    See Twin Shadow Reinvent 'Castles in the Snow' in the Moog Sound Lab

    Late last October, a swarm of musicians and nerds assembled in lovely Asheville, North Carolina for Moogfest, an annual gathering celebrating the legacy of synth pioneer Bob Moog. One of the artists in attendance was George Lewis Jr., chief songwriter and frontman for Brooklyn mood-pop project Twin Shadow. Lewis and Co. are also leading off the second season of performance series Moog Sound Lab, where acts reinterpret their own songs using Moog technology. This season will also feature songs by Little Dragon, the Antlers, Ra Ra Riot, and Megafaun.SPIN is bringing you a clip of Lewis leading his touring outfit through a special rendition of Forget cut "Castles in the Snow" aided by a wealth of Moog gear that includes the company's new iPad synthesizer app, Animoog. For a bonus performance of "Slow," hit up the Moog site.Scalable, non-watermarked brightcove.createExperiences();

  • 110331-perry-farrell.png

    Perry Farrell Lays Out Lolla Lineups, Plan to Save the Music Biz

    This morning Perry Farrell announced the lineups for Lollapalooza Chile (Foo Fighters, Björk and Arctic Monkeys) and Lollapalooza Brazil (Foo Fighters, Arctic Monkeys and Jane's Addiction), two massive events that'll take place March 31-April 1, 2012 and April 7-8, 2012, respectively. When SPIN caught up with the always-chatty Jane's Addiction frontman a week ago, he talked about bringing his Lolla dream to South America... then expanded on plans to create an NBA for rock stars, dissed the Jonas Brothers, sort of praised Britney Spears, and revealed his love for Bon Iver. While planning these festivals in South America, how much have you been reminded of the first few in the early '90s?A lot! The people down there are so enthusiastic about music because they're starved for all the talent that we almost take for granted here.

  • 111117-feist.png

    Feist Lets Her Hair Grow Out for 'How Come You Never Go There' Video

    Not really. That's totally a wig. But in the clip for "How Come You Never Go There," an ambling high point from Ms. Leslie Feist's most recent long-player, Metals, the Canadian songstress lets her lengthy black mane luxuriate in a swirl of wind, moss and ferns. See Also:• In Bed With Feist

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA