David Bevan


Manhattan, NY

  • Gentlemen Jesse and His Men, 'Leaving Atlanta' (Douchemaster)

    Another hot slab of gleaming, glittering, '70s power-pop that's more reverent than retro.

  • The Men / Photo by Owen Richards

    The Men Announce Tour, Share 8-Minute Epic 'A Minor'

    As part of label home Sacred Bones' forthcoming Record Store Day comp, Todo Muere Volume 2 (the very same mentioned in our brief Skype interview with Danish labelmates War in February), the Men have shared "A Minor," a previously unreleased, eight-minute epic that's every bit as psychedelic and stormy as the many wailers that fill the Brooklyn outfit's most recently released (and SPIN Essential'd) full-length, Open Your Heart. It's due April 21, roughly a month before they head out on a slew of freshly announced North American tour dates. Hear the song (via Pitchfork!) and check a full list of shows below.

  • Heavy Cream

    First Spin: Behold Heavy Cream's Snot-Spackled 'John Johnny'

    It makes perfect sense that Heavy Cream landed on Infinity Cat Records, a label founded and managed by fellow Nashvillians Jake and Jamin Orral of JEFF the Brotherhood. They don't sound like a band with much regard for their bodies or expectations. That and the mostly female quartet soak their pugnacious brand of garage-rock hellfire with a thick and smelly distortion closely related to that favored by their (figurative) bros in JEFF. "John Johnny" is a herky-jerky joyride from their forthcoming, Ty Segall-produced full-length, Super Treatment, due May 8. You can both hear and feel some rock'n'roll constellation take shape. DOWNLOAD

  • Marriages

    First Spin: Hear Marriages' Muscular 'Ride In My Place'

    If first impressions are everything, Marriages are in great shape. Case in point: "Ride in My Place," the opening gust from the trio's forthcoming debut via Sargent House, Kitsune. All three members also share time in Los Angeleno post-rock collective Red Sparowes, an instrumental outfit that served as a meeting point for musicians stepping away from other projects. But here, singer/guitarist Emma Ruth Rundle steps behind a microphone to add welcome layers of smoke-bombed vocals. The result is a muscular, beautifully marbled slab of mood-rock that sounds less like a side-project's side-project and more like a band about to howl. DOWNLOAD

  • Nick Zammuto

    Stream Zammuto's Bubbly Self-Titled Full-Length

    Early last summer, after his adored found-sound pop collage outfit the Books ended, co-founder Nick Zammuto began sharing new songs meant for a new band he supposed would become a "three or four-piece" via his personal blog. Since then, he's assembled that band for a spate of live dates (below) as well as a full-length recording, due next Tuesday via Temporary Residence. Though it's a less conceptual and far more direct effort than anything we've heard from him yet, it still brims with the same implacable energy that garnered his previous work such a following.

  • Japandroids / Photo by Maoya Bassiouni

    Japandroids Announce Tour With Basher 'The House That Heaven Built'

    They're very much back. In the lead-up to the June 5 release of Celebration Rock (the sophomore follow-up to their 2009 splash, Post-Nothing), Japandroids have shared an anthem. Specifically a gleaming, skyscraping, eye-opening, chest-thumping basher titled "The House That Heaven Built." It's a song that was built with audience participation in mind. "On a lot of this record, we actually tried to simulate the sound of what we though the crowd would do during the songs," guitarist/vocalist Brian King said in a statement. "[Drummer/vocalist Dave Prowse] and I were in the studio just screaming out as if we were in the audience at our own show." The Vancouver duo are set to enjoy just that when they embark on a slew of summer dates through both Europe and North America starting May 17 in Cardiff, Wales. Check those out below and the track over at their web address right now.

  • Rusko / Photo by Matt Lingo

    Download Rusko's Reggae-Step 'Skanker'

    Today marks the release of Rusko's Songs, the dubstep rainmaker's sophomore follow-up to 2010's O.M.G.!. It's a full-length floor adventure rife with cross-pollinating, as encapsulated by "Skanker," which SPIN is exclusively premiering below (you can buy the album on iTunes). The man born Christopher Mercer takes a slab of interstellar reggae and juices it up with pupil-dilating, Niagara-like drops, each one a ride worth the wait. DOWNLOAD

  • The Decemberists, 'We All Raise Our Voices To The Air (Live Songs 04.11-08.11)' (Capitol)

    Last decade's Counting Crows quaver and charm though two hours of live geek hits.

  • Simian Mobile Disco / Photo by Kate Moross

    Watch Simian Mobile Disco's Mesmerizing Animated 'Cerulean' Video

    Video game nerds, brace yourself. Jack Featherstone and Will Samuel of ISO Studio designed, directed, and animated the minimal yet mesmerizing clip below for "Cerulean," a mood-piece from Simian Mobile Disco's forthcoming full-length mind-blower, Unpatterns, out May 15, 2012 via Wichita. Among other wondrous things, it's like lot like Alleyway and Super Mario Bros. 3. Good morning!

  • Big Bang

    Seoul Trained: Inside Korea's Pop Factory

    You would never guess that this is where they live. Lisa Jo is casually pointing to it from her office just across the street: a squat, red-brick apartment building whose only distinguishing mark is the grimy noodle shop tucked into its ground floor. Thousands of houses just like this one carpet Seoul's hilly northern half, most of them dwarfed by the skyscraping residential towers that line the Han River and virtually every major avenue in the city like teeth. This one, though, functions as the primary residence for as many as 30 young "trainees" signed to YG Entertainment, one of three major management companies headquartered here in South Korea's capital. And this is where another group of unit-shifting, border-blurring, level-pushing Korean pop starlets sleeps, during those few hours at night when they break from studying their craft.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA