David Bevan


Manhattan, NY

  • Still from

    Video Premiere: Cursive's Chilling 'This House Alive'

    For "This House Alive," a foul-tempered, tightly coiled cut from their recently released I Am Gemini, Nebraska emo vets Cursive have shared a Kevin Slack-directed clip that plays heavily on that album's title and background story — that of Cassius and Pollack, twin brothers separated at birth and reunited in "a house that is not a home." Below, behold as two bros hunt one another in the dead of winter, as tough a visual supplement to frontman Tim Kasher's stomach-knotting crescendos as one could desire.

  • Moonface

    Video Premiere: Watch Moonface's Blood-Freezing 'Teary Eyes and Bloody Lips'

    Next week, Jagjaguwar will release With Siinai: Heartbreaking Bravery, the latest full-length offering from Spencer Krug's Moonface project. It's a chilly breakup album that finds the Wolf Parade/Sunset Rubdown/Frog Eyes/Swan Lake musician collaborating with Finnish, SPIN Essential'd krautrock revisionists Siinai. (You can also find it on SPIN's new list of 25 records you need to hear this spring.) Below, check out the gorgeous, appropriately spectral, Marsha Balaeva-directed clip for Stevie Nicks-referencing standout, "Teary Eyes and Bloody Lips."

  • 'Bright Whites' still

    Video Premiere: Kishi Bashi's Whimsical 'Bright Whites'

    Back in January, we debuted "It All Began With A Burst," an early, exceedingly effervescent listen from current Of Montreal touring member Kishi Bashi's debut full-length, 151a. That record is due out tomorrow via Joyful Noise and below, you can take a look at the Brett Vaughn-directed clip for "Bright Whites" featuring several members Of Montreal (among others!) acting out literal interpretations of 56 classic idioms while exotic birds attempt to escape a carnival. Whimsy abounds! And if you're keen on idioms, KishiBashi.com is currently hosting a fill-in-the-blank contest for a $100 gift certificate to the Joyful Noise online store — all you've got to do is spot them and work them into the phrase they've laid out for you.

  • Electronic Anthology Project album art

    Electronic Anthology Project (Built to Spill's Brett Nelson) Covers Dinosaur Jr.'s 'The Lung'

    In what's quickly becoming one of the most tantalizing Record Store Day lineups to date, Built to Spill bassist Brett Nelson has also recorded new-wave interpretations of Dinosaur Jr. classics as part of his Electronic Anthology Project — with fresh vocal takes from guitarist J. Mascis. (You may remember Nelson's synth-and-drum-machine-driven takes on the Built to Spill catalog for a self-titled debut EP in 2010.) It's due April 21 as a limited (500) run of purple vinyl, but below you can stream Nelson's sparkling rendition of "The Lung," from 1987's You're Living All Over Me, the album from which all but one of Nelson's covers are taken.

  • White Denim, 'Get Back to Love' album art

    White Denim Cover R. Kelly's 'Don't You Say No' (Of Course)

    There are loads of influences evident in White Denim's sidewinding psych-rock attacks, but frontman James Petralli tends to render the blend even more elastic by delivering his lines like a bona fide soul singer. A fluttery, crudely recorded, relatively faithful (i.e. silken) rendition of R. Kelly's "Don't You Say No" from 2000's TP-2.com, shouldn't come as too much of a surprise. This makes sense. Petralli singing, "Say you wanna take first-class trips, well I wanna work those first-class hips" makes sense. Everything's fine. Hear what we mean below.

  • Feist and Mastodon

    Look at the Amazing Cover Art for Feist and Mastodon's Single

    Arguably the most surprising Record Store collaboration (next to Ke$ha's team-up with Flaming Lips) now has equally surprising cover art. In an effort to match the majesty of their forthcoming split 7" Feistodon, for which Feist and Mastodon came together to cover one another for a good cause, the two acts have combined for a photo collage that uses bits of their faces and hair and a graffiti'd tongue too perfect to be real.

  • CFCF

    Hear CFCF's Philip Glass-Inspired 'Exercise #5 (September)'

    Canadian producer/DJ Mike Silver, who writes and records as CFCF, is gearing up to release his forthcoming Exercises EP on April 24 via Paper Bag Records. It's an effort Silver says he wrote with composer Philip Glass in mind, an influence that can heard and felt in the sun-dappled synth cycles of "Exercise #5 (September)," Silver's cover of "September," the opening mood piece from David Sylvian of Japan's 1987 solo album Secrets of the Beehive. DOWNLOAD

  • White Fence, 'Family Perfume Vol. 1' (Woodsist)

    First of ex-Strange Boy's two-disc opus is a frizzled, fried, raucous ride through late '60s psych.

  • Deer Tick / Photo by Scott Alario

    Listen to Deer Tick's Shaggy 'Tim' Cut 'Born at Zero'

    By now you know that Nashville-via-Rhode Island garage rock ragamuffins Deer Tick were so bold/cheeky as to name their latest EP, Tim, a shameless tribute to the band whose influence has crept its way into their ruckus with each recording: the Replacements. Below, behold "Born at Zero," an EP cut of rock'n'roll comfort food that proves once more that they're not fucking around about fucking around. DOWNLOAD Deer Tick Tour Dates: April 19 - Springfield, MA @ John Boyle O'Reilly Club April 20 - Asbury Park, NJ @ Stone Pony April 22 - Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church April 23 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Rex Theatre April 24 - Nashville, TN @ Mercy Lounge April 27 - Oxford, MS @ Double Decker Festival April 28 - Dallas, TX @ The Loft April 29 - Austin, TX @ Antones April 30 - San Antonio, TX @ Korova May 1 - Laredo, TX @ Old No.

  • Grand Rapids / Photo by Eric Baumann

    Download Grand Rapids' Twangy Garage Gem 'Feels Like a Lifetime'

    Teenaged New York foursome Grand Rapids are proud, guitar-slinging Manhattanites, enough so that they'd distance themselves a bit from their synth-loving, MacBook-touting "hipster" cousins across the river in Brooklyn. Fair enough: "Feels Like a Lifetime," the outfit's debut for Beggars Group single label Too Pure, is swangy, tangy, fire-breathing garage rock gem for which there is no substitute. Just guitars, bass, drums, some paint-peeling leads and a sturdy chord progression. DOWNLOAD

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA