David Bevan


Manhattan, NY

  • Evans The Death, 'Evans The Death' (Slumberland)

    Foos-meets-Smiths guitar-pop made sweeter by frontwoman Katherine Whitaker's holy-shit vocal work.

  • Holograms / Photo by Julia Persson

    Holograms Announce LP With Throbbing 'Chasing My Mind'

    For those of you still floored by New Brigade, Iceage's left-field smash last year, Stockholm's Holograms should immediately qualify as Persons of Interest. Set to see Stateside release on July 10 via Captured Tracks, their white-knuckle, self-titled debut LP is a haunting set of new wave-glazed, proto-punk fever dreams. Hear relatively effervescent first listen, "Chasing My Mind Away" here: DOWNLOAD

  • Cheap Time, 'Wallpaper Music' (In the Red)

    Tennessee glam-snots (and Jay Reatard faves) outgrow their ilk, unload a thorny, at times mesmeric mess.

  • JEFF the Brotherhood

    Hear JEFF the Brotherhood's Crunchy, Dan Auerbach-Produced 'Sixpack'

    Though Black Keys singer/guitarist Dan Auerbach sat in to produce JEFF the Brotherhood's forthcoming Hypnotic Knights EP, it's vintage (underlined) Rivers Cuomo whose influence can be felt most throughout the two-and-half-minutes of glee that is "Sixpack." The distortion, the nursery-rhyme guitar lines, the daisy chains of ooooh and synth, the way Jake Orrall twists his vocals in the pre-chorus — check out one of the Brothers' most economical and inescapable pop gems.

  • Ed Schrader's Music Beat

    See Ed Schrader's Music Beat's Blissful 'When I'm In A Car' Clip

    In his write-up last month for "My Mind is Broken," an early listen from Baltimore post-punk button-smasher Ed Schrader's latest full-length, Jazz Mind, SPIN editor Christopher R. Weingarten listed one reference point that every and no band can touch: "the unfiltered, primordial joy of pounding on shit." And that's what you can find in this brief but beatific, deranged-depending-on-your-definition, Madeline Tess Peters-directed clip for "When I'm in a Car":

  • Willie Nelson

    Watch Willie Nelson and Sons Cover Pearl Jam's 'Just Breathe'

    As part of a performance for his Willie's Roadhouse channel on Sirius XM satellite radio yesterday (as well as on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon), Willie Nelson and his sons Lukas and Micah performed their glowing rendition of Pearl Jam's "Just Breathe," a fingerpicked, Vedder-penned tearjerker from 2009's Backspacer that also features prominently on Nelson's just released Heroes LP. Lukas' solo at the 3:14 mark is particularly nice:

  • Simian Mobile Disco / Photo by Kate Moross

    Listen to Simian Mobile Disco's Full Elegant 'Unpatterns'

    Jas Shaw and James Ford have remained restless approaching Unpatterns, their third full-length under the Simian Mobile Disco moniker, leaving the electro-pop of 2009's Temporary Pleasure behind for a platter of (expectedly) elegant minimal techno that's likely heard best on headphones. One day before the album hits shelves via Wichita Recordings, you can stream it in full exclusively here:

  • Delicate Steve / Photo by Joe Appaluccio

    Hear Delicate Steve Sing on Beautiful New Track 'Two Lovers'

    On Positive Force, his sophomore effort (due July 10 via David Byrne's Luaka Bop label), Jersey native "Delicate" Steve Marion throws us another curveball: he sings. Though the guitar acrobatics that made his roughly hewn (and totally instrumental) debut shimmer can still be relished from end to end, the warm, titular refrain that blankets the second half of "Two Lovers" is a most welcome addition. Also: during the last week of May, Luaka Bop, in conjunction with Parte, will launch a four day-long "public and private installation event in spaces across the isle of Manhattan." It's "equal parts 21st Century scavenger hunt, listening party, and conceptual art installation" that will encourage listeners to engage with Positive Force across the city. "Playbutton apparatuses" will be "anchored" to ten different locations, each set to play one song from the record.

  • Dope Body / Photo by Angel Ceballos

    Listen to Dope Body's Raucous 'Natural History' LP

    Next Tuesday, Baltimore noise-rock bros Dope Body will unleash Natural History, their sophomore full-length, Drag City debut, and a whale of a record that takes its name from a hometown DIY space where they played their first show: The Museum of Natural History. That performance was meant to be a one-off, a way for them to test out a slew of zig-zagging ideas they'd dreamt up together for kicks. And had it not been as exhilarating as it was, they wouldn't have opted to turn the gig into the first of many, nor would they have decided to harness on tape the ruckus that's streaming below. Let's all be thankful for that.

  • Hot Water Music / Photo by Marco Krenn

    Hot Water Music Break Down 'Exister': Full Album Stream

    When Hot Water Music's Chuck Ragan spoke to SPIN via telephone two weeks ago, his voice was no less rugged than it is on tape. The Florida-bred co-frontman had been pulling double duty whilst in Europe, performing sets on his own as well as alongside his recently revived outfit, the latter in support of Exister, their first studio full-length in eight years. Below, find both Ragan and fellow guitarist/vocalist/songwriter Chris Wollard's breakdown of each of the disc's tracks as it streams in its entirety. "Mainline" Chuck Ragan: I held onto this one for quite a while. It was one of those songs, simply just a song about taking on the world, putting the pedal down and heading in, full speed, taking on every positive aspect of life that's presented to you.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA