David Bevan


Manhattan, NY

  • PAWS

    Hear PAWS' Sebadoh-Inflected 'Sore Tummy' Single

    PAWS, those Orange Juice-informed, Sebadoh-indebted, Glasgow-bred indie-pop confectioners that swooped into this month's 5 Best New Artists list on the strength of Cokefloat, their debut full-length (due next month via Fat Cat), have just shared a stream for album single "Sore Tummy." It's a stirring reminder of the year 1997, a time and place when indie rock favored distortion more sweet than evil. Hear it below, alongside unreleased, equally toothsome B-Side,"Salem."

  • Photo courtesy Unknown Mortal Orchestra

    Unknown Mortal Orchestra 'Nerd Out' On Sophomore LP

    Since the release last year of his Unknown Mortal Orchestra project's self-titled debut, former Mint Chick Ruban Nielson has lived on the road, providing opening support for Girls, Liars, and most recently, Grizzly Bear. But in January, the newly minted Jagjaguwar signee began earnest work on that album's sophomore follow-up, an effort he describes as a much more "expanded and ambitious"  offering, his debut's "big brother."Written and recorded between tours, the record, due early next year, is "about being on the road," Nielson said recently, by phone from Joe Lambert's (Deerhunter, Sharon Van Etten) South Brooklyn mastering studio. "There is a lot of weird shit that starts going through your head when you don't get enough sleep, when you start indulging in stuff.

  • Jason Lytle / Photo by Jeff Hawe

    Hear Grandaddy Frontman Jason Lytle's Rousing 'Get Up And Go'

    Turn-of-the-century Californian psych-pop mainstays Grandaddy announced this spring that they'd be reuniting after six years away from the scene, an occasion quickly followed by frontman Jason Lytle's announcement that he'd also be releasing a solo full-length, Dept. Of Disappearance, this October via Anti-. "Get Up And Go," streaming here, is a weightless, wonderfully uplifting number from the latter, his first since 2009:

  • Paul Westerberg / Photo by Getty Images

    Hear Paul Westerberg's Lonesome New 'My Road Now'

    Former Replacements frontman (and Singles soundtrack boss) Paul Westerberg shared a previously unreleased song today by way of fan-run website Paul Westerberg.net. "My Road Now" finds St. Westerberg alone with his piano, taking on shades of Randy Newman and adding a thin layer of schmaltz, transforming an otherwise modest recording (enjoy the rough edges on both ends of the tape) and chorus into a shot just below your ribcage.

  • Daughn Gibson / Photo by Kristine Eng

    Daughn Gibson: Stoner Punk Morphs Into Honky-Tonk Crooner

    Who: A one-time truck driver, as well as a drummer for Pennsylvania blues-punks Pearls and Brass, Josh Martin is a newly minted Sub Pop signee now working under the nom de plume Daughn Gibson (a sly nod to country legend Don Gibson, of “Sweet Dreams” fame). Martin’s solo work mines the shadowed, stubbled, wonderfully grey areas between classic jukebox country music and sample-based, post-Burial pop atmospherics.Sounds Like: His full-length debut as Daughn Gibson, All Hell (released earlier this year on Pissed Jeans frontman Matt Korvette's White Denim label), announced the arrival of a singular, sumptuous hybrid, a sound that, while redolent of both cowboy bars and rain-slicked London streets, felt very much like it was composed in long-haul solitude. Of his gig driving trucks, Gibson, 32, says: "It depends on the kind of person you are.

  • RNDM / Photo by Danny Clinch

    Watch Pearl Jam-Joseph Arthur Offshoot RNDM's Silent Film-Like 'Modern Times' Clip

    During a recent lunchtime meeting with the men of RNDM — that newly formed supergroup comprised of Pearl Jam bassist Jeff Ament, singer-songwriter Joseph Arthur, and former Fastbacks drummer Richard Stuverud — we couldn't help but notice that each of the outfit's three members boasted similarly shaved manes. While Arthur claims he suggested the threesome shave their heads as an act of solidarity, Ament, the Montana-born son of a barber, upped the ante by recommending they all adopt mohawks like his instead. Below, in the South Brooklyn-shot, silent film-like clip for "Modern Times," a skittering, intermittently psychedelic cut from their forthcoming debut, Acts, the guys introduce themselves as they groom themselves. See it for the first time below:

  • Unnatural Helpers / Photo by Patrick Wright

    Stream Unnatural Helpers' Deliciously Heavy 'Land Grab'

    Two weeks ago, we posted "Toil," a sample of Unnatural Helpers' forthcoming Land Grab LP that could have only been made in the city of their birth: Seattle. Though the outfit began as a feral garage-rock foursome comprised entirely of Sub Pop employees, lineup changes (main man Dean Whitmore remains the only constant) haven't caused them to stray too far from a sound Whitmore's former co-worker and onetime tourmate, Mudhoney's Mark Arm, helped make famous in the late '80s and early '90s. Today, you can hear the record in its gloriously indigestive entirety, as recorded and mixed by former Fastbacks frontman and local lifer Kurt Bloch.

  • Lucius

    Hear Indie-Poppers Lucius on the Lucious 'Turn It Around'

    Lucius is a Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig-fronted fivesome whose luscious, leonine, '60s-indebted indie-pop lullabies have been garnering a startling bit of interest since they stormed last year's CMJ Music Marathon in New York. That was well-earned buzz, as evidenced by the beautifully arranged, slightly sinewy hooks of "Turn It Around," a standout from their self-titled, recently self-released EP. Hear it exclusively below:

  • Your Youth

    Hear Your Youth's Explosive 'Thick Gold (Bodied)'

    Though Your Youth describe themselves as a "loud alternative band from Brooklyn," the duo's white-knuckle pop-punk suggests maybe they somehow snuck over here from the Pacific Northwest. "Thick Gold (Bodied)," a jouncy cut from their forthcoming Battery EP (due October 30 via Old Flame) is a compact, highly explosive combination of those guitar strains made famous by bands like Built To Spill and Nirvana. Hear it below.

  • Dinosaur Jr. / Photo by Brantley Gutierrez

    Hear Dinosaur Jr.'s Furious 'Pierce the Morning Rain': Premiere

    This past May, during a trip to Dinosaur Jr. frontman J Mascis' home and studio in Amherst, Massachusetts, SPIN watched as the legendary indie rock trio finished up work on I Bet On Sky, their third full-length since reuniting in 2005. At the time, Mascis in particular seemed vexed by one song, a candied bruiser (working title "Downtown") whose vocal-less mix he and longtime producer John Agnello spent much of an afternoon scrutinizing as it blasted on the Mascis family stereo. That song would later be known as "Pierce the Morning Rain," and the record itself, out tomorrow on Jagjaguwar in North America (today in the U.K. and Europe), would take its title from one of its striking lyrics. Hear it exclusively below and be sure to look out for a lengthy, in-depth profile of the band here this week.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tuatara — Snakecharmer " 02:56
  • 2 Sleep — The Clarity " 09:51
  • 3 The Weeknd — King Of The Fall " 05:02
  • 4 Unicorns — Rocketship " 02:50
  • 5 Valentino Khan — Make Some Noise " 03:43
  • 6 Christopher Denny — Watch Me Shine " 04:28
  • 7 The Range — Rayman " 03:34

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA