David Bevan


Manhattan, NY

  • Kate Nash

    Watch Kate Nash's Brash and Bloody 'Death Proof' Video

    "I wanted 'Death Proof' to have a Tarantino feel," English songstress Kate Nash says of the Aram Rappaport-directed clip for her new EP's titular cut. "But I also love this movie called Freaks so a lot of the inspiration came from that as well: old Bettie Page pictures, travelling circus people, and freak shows."Nash and Rappaport had actually worked together last summer in New York on the film Syrup, in which she had a small part. And when she told the Rappaport she'd be in L.A.

  • Pissed Jeans / Photo by Nick Helderman

    Pissed Jeans Come Full Circle On New Album 'Honeys'

    "I think that it's easy, in this time of a million and one bands being blasted at you from all angles, to quickly take a band at surface level, judge them, and move on," says Pissed Jeans frontman Matt Korvette. "And probably, most bands deserve a quick 'sounds like XYZ, file under indie' designation. But I like to think there's more to Pissed Jeans than just "loud crazy rock.

  • Fort Lean

    Stream Fort Lean's Moody New 'Change Your Name' EP

    Earlier this year we posted a download for "Sunsick," a righteously anthemic chunk of streamlined, Brooklyn-built power-pop that improved upon all the wonderful noise that defined Fort Lean's remarkable CMJ run several months earlier. Today, we are pleased to remind you that the band is back with a small family of new songs. Below, for the very first time, hear the relatively moody Change Your Name EP in its jangly entirety. 

  • SPIN's NBA Jam: 40 Players and Their Pop-Music Alter-Egos

    SPIN's NBA Jam: 40 Players and Their Pop-Music Alter-Egos

  • BigBang / Photo by Ryan Muir

    K-Pop Heals New Jersey: Backstage at BigBang's 'Alive' Finale

  • Ex-Cult

    Stream Ex-Cult's White-Knuckled, Ty Segall-Produced Self-Titled Debut

    "When you sing in a hardcore band," says Ex-Cult's Chris Shaw, "everything is very concrete because you have this idea you're trying to convey in a two-minute span. I wanted to get weirder than that and not go into writing a song already knowing exactly what I wanted to say, but rather, hear the music and then let whatever I was thinking about take over. The weirder the better."Shaw, who had also served in Memphis hardcore unit Vile Nation, found the perfect set of collaborators to achieve just that, combining with friends in the local punk scene (including members of Magic Kids) as well as cyclonic San Franciscan Ty Segall. In March, after a series of Ex-Cult shows at SXSW, Segall approached Shaw and his bandmates about producing their yet-to-be-recorded debut full-length on Memphis' Goner Records.

  • Refused / Photo by Getty Images

    Fun Fun Fun Fest 2012's 20 Best Sets

    This past weekend, Austin's seventh annual Fun Fun Fun Fest saw the once-modest, mid-autumn gathering finally metamorphose from off-season distraction to a festival-season staple capable of attracting more than just Ryan Gosling and a few local punks (and thanks to the Austin Music Office, SPIN was hanging in a sweet ATX Airstream). The headliners were heavyweights in their respective fields (Run-DMC, Refused), and the daily lineups (split between three specialized stages) were uniformly strong. There was both a taco cannon and a Black Lips set made zanier by contributions from Val Kilmer and Rooney Mara, the latter introduced by the former as Miley Cyrus. (Michael Fassbender acted as their chauffeur, carting them around backstage in a golf cart; he is a vocal Penguin Prison fan.) There was a nautical-themed skate and BMX ramp. Napalm Death were there.

  • The Babies

    Stream the Babies' Sidewinding 'Our House on the Hill'

    The Babies were born as a side project, a means for founding members Kevin Morby (Woods) and Cassie Ramone (Vivian Girls) to "trade song ideas and play house parties." But in the past two years, the Brooklyn duo has seen the group bloom into another formidable, full-time band. Next week, they will release Our House on the Hill, their second full-length and first to feature bassist Brian Schleyer. It's a record they recorded away from home, over two weeks in Los Angeles with producer Rob Barbato (the Fall, Cass McCombs, Darker My Love), and without question their most varied and engrossing outing to date. Hear it in full below.

  • Download Thee Oh Sees' Volatile Velvet Underground Cover 'European Son'

    Download Thee Oh Sees' Volatile Velvet Underground Cover 'European Son'

    "It's always a little threatening to take on material I consider perfect as is," says Thee Oh Sees frontman John Dwyer. "The only rule being, don't fuck it up." But in covering the Velvet Underground's "European Son," the "perfect material" in question, Dwyer and his San Francisco garage-punk crew never came close to fucking anything up at all — their faithful contribution to the forthcoming, Castle Face-helmed tribute Velvet Underground & Nico is every bit as volatile as the original. "I thought it was a great closer for that album," he says of the song, coda to the legendary New York outfit's 1967 debut LP. "I figured I could ride the noise-wave pretty far on that particular tune." He definitely does. Hear it for the first time below.

  • The Pharmacy / Photo by Adarasha Benjamin

    Hear the Pharmacy's Fleet-Footed 'Make Me Remember'

    Though the Pharmacy call Seattle their hometown, the power-punk threesome spent much of the past year living and writing their latest album Stoned & Alone in New Orleans. It's an effort that finds them stepping outside of their beery comfort zone, experimenting with strings and fleshing out songs (many of which were recorded back in Seattle at Jack Endino's Soundhouse studios using the same Fender amp Kurt Cobain did on 1989's Bleach) to lengths they hadn't yet before. Below hear weightless highlight "Make Me Remember," a song with a coda that's tough to forget.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 OOFJ — I Forgive You " 03:52
  • 2 MyMidnightHeart — D R O W N " 04:59
  • 3 In Tall Buildings — Bawl Cry Wail " 04:08
  • 4 Slutever — Smother " 01:55
  • 5 Lithuania — Pieces " 03:40
  • 6 Kuroma — Love Is on the Way " 03:29
  • 7 Big Sean — Blessings " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA