David Bevan


Manhattan, NY

  • 111014-bleached.png

    First Spin: Hear Bleached's 'Searching Through the Past'

    Months after beloved L.A. art-punkers and Smell disciples Mika Miko called it a day in late 2009, sisters Jessica and Jennifer Clavin dove right back into writing and recording together as Bleached. While they've definitely taken their sound in another direction (splenetic guitar moves have been swapped out in favor of softer, strummier, far stickier fare), the energy's not so different at all. That is to say, they've still got it. "Searching Through the Past" is an unshakeable new cut from their forthcoming 7" single of the same, due December 6 on Suicide Squeeze. Have a listen: Bleached, "Searching Through The Past"

  • Bon Iver: The Craftsman

    Bon Iver: The Craftsman

    Justin Vernon's Wisconsin compound isn't just a totem of his success -- it's a metaphor for everything he believes in and everything he wants to achieve. Resting on the floor in a corner of Justin Vernon's home studio, safe from foot traffic, is a collage of Polaroid portraits pinned to cork. Dozens of smiles fan out across the two-by-four bulletin board. "Memento vibes," he says, hoisting it up proudly. "Look, that's Colin Stetson." He motions to a shot of his saxophonist, who's played with Arcade Fire and TV on the Radio. "And there's my dad," he beams, pointing to a mustachioed guy whose frame is slightly brawnier than his own. The project commemorates the recent completion of Bon Iver, the self-titled follow-up to his debut, 2008's For Emma, Forever Ago.

  • Delicate Steve, 'Wondervisions' (Luaka Bop)

    Delicate Steve, 'Wondervisions' (Luaka Bop)

    Wiry New Jersey goofball "Delicate" Steve Marion handcrafts protean instrumental guitar pop on his debut full-length that isn't delicate in the least. Flush with six-string personality, Wondervisions shifts smoothly from Pavement's psychedelic cowlicks ("Welcome-Begin") to Dirty Projectors' zigzagging Afro-riffs ("Butterfly") to the synth and acoustic slide guitar of heartbreaking march "Don't Get Stuck (Proud Elephants)." Marion's approach varies, but his surprisingly soulful songs consistently connect, a significant feat considering we only hear his voice through a Fender.

  • Times New Viking, 'Born Again Revisited'

    Times New Viking have truly mastered the no-fi game: No matter how they defile their sound (with razor blades, broken glass, tape hiss), they make sure there's bubblegum at the center. Here, TNV intensify the sweet and the abrasive. Mind the gap: "Martin Luther King Day" recalls Built to Spill at their most deliciously crunchy, while the ruckus of opener "Born Again Revisited" borders on the unlistenable. But standout "No Time, No Hope" finds a spectacular middle ground, a harmonized space where the band's menace makes perfect pop sense. BUY: iTunesAmazon

  • Dead Man's Bones, 'Dead Man's Bones' (Anti-)

    Hollywood brooder Ryan Gosling doesn't reverse the rule that actors make dubious pop musicians (see Keanu, Jared Leto, ScarJo), but his rickety collaboration with budding thespian Zach Shields has an undeniable dark charm. At its best, the duo's debut shambles along like a Tom Waits-led, Tim Burton-produced Halloween recital -- "My Body's a Zombie for You" and "Lose Your Soul" (both featuring the Silverlake Conservatory Children's Choir) are particularly spooky piano forays that, thanks to elegant arrangements, don't sag under the face-painted novelty of it all.

  • A Place to Bury Strangers, 'Exploding Head' (Mute)

    Led by effects-pedal guru Oliver Ackermann (the Edge is a customer), this Brooklyn trio further their rep for insane volume on their first proper studio album. "I Lived My Life to Stand in the Shadows of Your Heart" is straight-to-the-head industrial rock, bull-rushing into a two-minute coda of pure squall and feedback that's not unlike having hot club soda poured in your ears. But the noise never eclipses the songwriting -- "Keep Slipping Away" is as tightly wound, shadowy, and sugary as any Cure single in decades.

  • No Age, 'Losing Feeling' (Sub Pop)

    Not that long ago, No Age's recorded output sounded as if it were being captured in the middle of a wash cycle. But since 2008's Nouns, their debut Sub Pop fulllength, the eldest brothers of L.A.'s Smell scene have further embraced melodic punk soundscaping. Milking the quiet-LOUD dynamic a drop more, this four-song EP's title track morphs a gentle guitar bath into a fuzz-pedal masterpiece. But it's the hooks of squealer "You're a Target" that arrive in unexpected style: Dean Allen Spunt's creamy falsetto. LISTEN: No Age, "You're a Target" (DOWNLOAD MP3) BUY: Amazon

  • Lisa Germano, 'Magic Neighbor' (Young God)

    Three songs into Lisa Germano's eighth album, as an unfussy guitar line gives way to a winsome waltz led by her own violin, she sings the realization "that the world could be so simple." Of course, Germano has long since realized that it's anything but, so she proceeds to rasp devastating lines about "turning families into target practice" (on the title track) while wrapping her grave words with filigrees of piano and chimes. Little has changed since her mid-'90s 4AD heyday, but instrumental bagatelles like "Marypan" and "Kitty Train" reveal that her touch remains as delicate as ever. BUY: Amazon

  • Shout Out Out Out Out, 'Reintegration Time' (Normals Welcome)

    Shout Out Out Out Out could be long-distance disciples of Brooklyn's punky mirror-ball tribe DFA. The Edmonton, Alberta six-piece's 2006 debut, Not Saying/Just Saying, was a Juno Award–nominated disco beast, and standard vocoder vocal turns and cowbell antics aside, their latest boasts a varied collection of Kraftwerkian dance-floor workouts. On cuts like "How Do I Maintain Pt. 1," the rhythmic interplay gets weighed down by its own excess, but the more expansive clouds of synth exhaust in wordless bookends "Run" and "Reintegration Time" offer more rewarding highs. BUY: iTunesAmazon

  • Regina Spektor, 'Far' (Sire)

    Three years after her major-label splash Begin to Hope, New York pianist Regina Spektor went back into the studio with four (!) multiplatinum producers of varying pop backgrounds, including Dr. Dre/Eminem/Fiona Apple enabler Mike Elizondo and former McCartney/Harrison/Wilbury collaborator and ELO founder Jeff Lynne. Yet despite so many hands at the controls, the only prints and smudges to be found are Spektor's own. Far snuggles between her previous efforts, linking the heady sweep of 2003's Soviet Kitsch to the roundabout pop treats of Begin to Hope. On lead-off track "The Calculation," Spektor purrs a scenario of love and hurt that plays out in the breakfast nook, her rubberband vocal tics flush with an almost Caribbean piano hook. In fact, the hiccups that drove songs such as her last album's hit single "Fidelity" sweeten the melodies even further here.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA