David Bevan


Manhattan, NY

  • 111101-cloud-nothings.png

    First Spin: Cloud Nothings' 'No Future No Past'

    On January 24, Carpark will release Attack on Memory, the second full-length from Cleveland-native Dylan Baldi's Cloud Nothings project. It's a leap. Over the past two years, Baldi has been cranking out recordings at a bewildering clip, from mangy cassette and 7" releases to the much shinier self-titled debut LP he dropped earlier this year. Whatever his recording budget, every cut has been spring-loaded with pop smarts, and in July, Baldi took some new ideas into the studio with producer (and Shellac frontman) Steve Albini in Chicago — a move akin to sending your songbook to the weight room for a summer. He left with a disc that's far more mean, muscular, and strong-jawed than anything he's shared to date, but the album still amplifies his ear for craft. "No Future No Past" is its thunderous opener: DOWNLOAD

  • 110907-ema-1.png

    First Spin: Hear EMA's Mesmerizing 'Angelo'

    Today, EMA is uncaging her Marked digital single and its B-side, "Angelo," is streaming right here. (There will be a limited run of 7" vinyl available on November 21). It's a cut that finds the Northern Californian songstress marching even further into the napalmed spaces that comprised this year's Past Life Martyred Saints, as she howls through hills of distortion and hum. She also brought company this time out: Oakland rapper MzGorjis delivers a rumbling, pre-climax guest verse featuring a bit of brilliant philosophy: "Life is a gift."

  • 111031-cold-showers.png

    Video Premiere: Cold Showers' Macabre 'Near Burn'

    Back in May, L.A. post-punk crew Cold Showers released Highlands, an icy 7" that came replete with plenty of sharp edges and dark passages. "Near Burn" is that single's B-side and this Brian Davila-directed clip for the cut contains imagery every bit as macabre as the song and date require. (Please see: an assortment of bones, blood oozing across an equally impressive assortment of surfaces.)brightcove.createExperiences();

  • 111031-gem-club.png

    Video Premiere: Gem Club's Unsettling '252'

    Halloween special! SPIN has procured the unsettling, Matthew Salton-directed clip for "252," a heart-breaker from Gem Club's just released debut LP, Breakers. There's a good deal of pseudo-blood and mouth-foam and foreboding bathroom imagery and pale skin — the kind of thing you expect to see on Halloween, though not as the visual compliment to such stark, elegiac piano music. Which is precisely why it works so well.We feel so uncomfortable right now!brightcove.createExperiences();

  • 111031-reigning-sound.png

    First Spin: Reigning Sound's Psychedelic New Cut 'Shaw'

    Over the past two decades, Reigning Sound leader and Memphis garage-punk landmark Greg Cartwright has been a driving force behind teeth-gnashing outfits like Oblivians and Compulsive Gamblers, as well as a mentor to the late Jay Reatard. Now based in Asheville, North Carolina, Cartwright's catalog only continues to grow: Tomorrow, his Reigning Sound is set to uncage Abdication, a new eight-song EP due out from SCION A/V. Check out the psychedelic soul of "Shaw":

  • 111028-tycho.png

    First Spin: Hear Tycho's Effervescent 'Dive' LP

    Tycho is Scott Hansen, a San Francisco producer who's gearing up to release Dive, his excellent new full-length under that pseudonym, on November 16 via Ghostly International. It's an elliptical, sun-shot slab of electro-pop that came to be during a break from Hansen's other gig as well-known designer and blogger, ISO50. Note how many of the bright tones that permeate his visual work are also at play here:

  • 111031-first-aid-kit.png

    Video Premiere: First Aid Kit's Mysterious 'The Lion's Roar'

    "The Lion's Roar" is the opening shot from sisters Klara and Johanna Söderberg's forthcoming First Aid Kit LP of the same name. It's a harmony-clad doozy. This Mats Udd-directed clip finds the twosome leading a procession through dark woods and golden clearings, all in pursuit of a suitcase resting at the bottom of a lake. Great mystery and reverb abounds!Scalable, non-watermarked brightcove.createExperiences();

  • 111028-soft-moon.png

    Watch Soft Moon's Abstract 'Total Decay' Clip

    Earlier this week, we shared a full stream of Total Decay, the forthcoming (and fantastic) EP from Luis Vasquez's Soft Moon project. This afternoon, the Bay Area outfit released a largely abstract, Ron Robinson-directed visual for the release's title cut that will inevitably make for some awful nightmares this coming weekend. We do it to ourselves. Also of note:Vasquez contributed a fitting addition to FACT's excellent mix series. Check that out here.

  • 111027-noel-gallagher.png

    First Spin: Hear Noel Gallagher's Grand 'Everybody's on the Run'

    Among the many gilded layers of "Everybody's on the Run," the opening blast from Noel Gallagher and his High Flying Birds' self-titled debut, you'll find a choir, an armada of strings and, we're pretty sure, a few pockets of brass. They're in there somewhere, but then again that's the point: This is big, deep, wildly declarative rock'n'roll. It sounds like there's something at stake. While we're not taking sides or fanning any flames, if we were brother Liam right now hearing this music for the first time, we'd be staring at our shoes, kicking rocks, and muttering more than we normally do. No joke.

  • 111026-syd-lana.png

    Odd Future's Syd Tha Kid Remixes Lana Del Rey

    In which the musicnerdisphere catches fire, weeps, and then collapses into puddle of its own hot urine — or something like that. Have a listen to Odd Future producer Syd Tha Kid's (credited here under her aptly named side project the Internet) remix of "Blue Jeans," the second single from Brooklyn singer-songwriter Lana Del Rey. Perhaps you've heard of her: In just three months, Del Rey's "Video Games" (and its viral, roughly hewn visual) has vaulted her from total unknown to indie rock curio to conversation starter to Damon Albarn collaborator to Q Award Winner. It's an ascent comparable to the meteoric rise of the equally web-friendly Odd Future crew. Hence all the pee and perfect storm hyperbole. Check it out:

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Voli feat. Misun — Burn Everything " 03:51
  • 2 Emay — MAIR " 04:09
  • 3 Grooms — Doctor M " 06:09
  • 4 The Suffers — Make Some Room " 04:34
  • 5 KLOË — Grip " 03:24
  • 6 Dead Right! — Rising Tide (Saint Motel Remix) " 03:17

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA