David Bevan


Manhattan, NY

  • The Young, 'Dub Egg' (Matador)

    Austin psych-rock foursome's Matador debut is a crispy, Crazy Horse-like delight that glimmers and growls.

  • Purity Ring

    Hear Purity Ring's Swirling 'Fineshrine'

    Purity Ring are gearing up for the long-awaited release of Shrines, the forward-thinking and much-ballyhooed Canadian electro-pop duo's debut full-length, due July 24 via 4AD. Today they've shared a stream of what is perhaps that album's finest moment: "Fineshrine," a semi-titular swirl of manipulated vocal samples and Megan James' own indelible melody. Hear it below, and while we're on the subject, we'll recommend picking up the July/August Outside Issue of SPIN, which features a rummage through James' bag. As she tells us, she prefers to live "in a world where everything's homemade."

  • Divine Fits

    Britt Daniel's Divine Fits Post Icy First Single 'My Love Is Real'

    Divine Fits, the new collaboration between Spoon's Britt Daniel and former Wolf Parade frontnut Dan Boeckner, announced the release of their first single today. Entitled "My Love Is Real," it's an icy, Boeckner-helmed slice of synth-pop set to occupy the A-side on 7" vinyl due July 31 via Merge as well as recall the latter's recently collapsed Handsome Furs outfit. Pre-order it here, and stream it by "Like"ing them on Facebook right now..

  • PUJOL, 'United States of Being' (Saddle Creek)

    A Black Lips-hosted Smash Mouth seance without a memorable hook or melody to its name — nerve-grating.

  • Ty Segall Band

    Hear Ty Segall Band's Gnarly Full 'Slaughterhouse'

    In January, Californian garage rock dynamo Ty Segall told us that he had a mammoth year mapped out in front of him, one that would include the release of three full-lengths. The first was his crispy collaboration with White Fence, the third a full-length of his very own. The second, due next week via In the Red, is Slaughterhouse, written and recorded with his touring band and streaming/howling in its entirety here now:

  • Bon Iver / Photo by D.L. Anderson

    Bon Iver Releasing Seven-Song iTunes Session Next Week

    On June 19, Bon Iver will release their first iTunes session, a special seven-song set that Justin Vernon and his nine-member touring outfit recorded last summer, shortly after the release of their self-titled, Grammy Award-winning sophomore full-length. (The very same that earned the hirsute Wisconsinite his first SPIN cover, as well.) Save for a closing cover of Björk's "Who Is It," a cut from 2004's Medúlla that frequently made its way into the Bon Iver live set last year, it's a release comprised solely of highlights from that album, including Song of The Year winner "Holocene." The set is available for pre-order now. Bon Iver iTunes Session Track List: "Beth/Rest" "Michicant" "Holocene" "Minnesota, WI" "Hinnom, TX" "Wash." "Who Is It?"

  • Bethany Cosentino in

    Best Coast's Sun-Dappled 'The Only Place' Video: Premiere

    Fireworks. Watermelon. Convertibles. While the first single from Best Coast's latest (and SPIN Essential) full-length of the same name is both a brochure for Southern California and a love letter to its only season, the Ace Norton-directed video below holds true to one of the song's central refrains: "We always have fun." Watch SPIN cover co-star Bethany Cosentino and her BC bandmate Bobb Bruno get up to no good in the park and on the beach, by the pool and on bikes. "If [California's] tourist board hasn't licensed this song for a promotional campaign yet," SPIN contributor Jon Young wrote of "The Only Place" last month, "it's only a matter of time." Same could be said of its visual accompaniment as well. The Only Place, incidentally, is one of our 40 Best Albums of 2012... So Far.

  • Japandroids' Dave Prowse and Brian King / Photos by Jennilee Marigomen

    Japandroids: Killing Yourself To Live

    Save for the scrape and shudder of a hockey game drifting from a television set near its entrance, the crowded waiting room at Mount Saint Joseph's surgical day-care unit is silent. Just skates on ice, jaws on glass, commentators, murmurs, the occasional sigh. As the Slovakian and U.S. squads trade blows in Helsinki, Japandroids guitarist Brian King is preparing to undergo an endoscopy and biopsy, exactly one week before he and bandmate Dave Prowse leave their home here in Vancouver for a spate of late-spring tour dates across Europe. "I'm more nervous about the result than I am the procedure," King says as we approach the nurse's station to check in. "No matter what, it'll fall within some spectrum of bad."Since he was a teen, King, now 29, has suffered from recurring stomach ulcers, a condition whose cause his physicians are hoping to finally pinpoint.

  • White Wires

    Download the White Wires' Crunchy 'All Night Long'

    On July 31, Dirtnap Records will release WWIII, the third full-length from shapeshifting Ottawa-based crew the White Wires. While the trio's debut was deemed a "garage" record and their sophomore effort decidedly "punk," WWIII is very much their take on '70s power-pop, as heard in the comfort food crunch of "All Night Long," up for grabs here: DOWNLOAD

  • Porter Robinson / Photo by Alexander Jacob

    Hear a Rambunctious Exclusive Porter Robinson Mix

    "I never had a deep-seated desire to be a musician," EDM phenom Porter Robinson told SPIN's David Marchese earlier this year. "It just happened to be the thing I was best at." Though we can't speak to the quality of his jump shot or his 40 time, we can point to an exclusive mix he cooked up as a less-than-gentle reminder that he's currently headlining a tour of large rooms the continent over.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 3 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 4 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 5 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 6 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 7 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA