• Hear Mazes' Tensile Ode to Blurred Vision 'Astigmatism'

    Hear Mazes' Gleeful, Guitar-Riffing 'Astigmatism'

    Since 2011, U.K. indie rock trio Mazes has churned out two full-length records of peppy and purring lo-fi balladry, and in September they're set to follow those up with another ramshackle collection called Wooden Aquarium. Today they've emerged with the first single from that album — a malleable '90s-indebted ode to blurred vision called "Astigmatism." Aided by Parquet Courts producer Jonathan Schenke, the band moves into decidedly more expansive territory. Though reliant on a roiling Royal Trux-esque guitar riff, "Astigmatism" finds Mazes working in widescreen, tossing in some gleeful multi-tracked vocalizations, and a bilious backward guitar solo for good measure. It's well within the tradition of the rear-view gazing the trio have indulged in over the course of their previous efforts, but this new track finds them more balanced and surefooted than ever.

  • Fred Durst Limp Bizkit The Truth Short Film Video

    Fred Durst, Actor, Is Shockingly Subtle in 'The Truth'

    Fred Durst is probably a little smarter than you give him credit for. The Limp Bizkit frontman has always hinted that the ultra-macho boneheadedness for which he and his band became famous was intended with at least a little bit of satire in mind. And today, he's emerged with an intelligent and pretty danged funny short film called The Truth, in which he plays an unstable traveling preacher.Directed by Durst, and made in a mockumentary style that mirrors Christopher Guest's awkward beats, the short is intended to highlight some of the inherent hypocrisies of church life.In an interview with SPIN last year Durst noted the difficulties that some fans face in interpreting aggro, dude-bro rap-rock that the band has come to embody since their late '90s heyday/ "We're playing it so straight that it's absolutely hard to differentiate or pull off any satire," he explained.

  • Bob Dylan Like A Rolling Stone Manuscript Auction 2 million

    A Draft of Bob Dylan's Lyrics for 'Like a Rolling Stone' Sells for $2 Million

    Though Bob Dylan's '80s output was celebrated earlier this year on a compilation featuring covers from Built to Spill and Reggie Watts, it's his '60s material that remains his most beloved. Today, a pretty significant piece of memorabilia from that era has been acquired by a collector. According to Rolling Stone, a draft of Dylan's classic "Like a Rolling Stone" sold for a world record $2 million in a Tuesday afternoon auction at Sotheby's. Written on stationary from Washington, DC's Roger Smith Hotel, this draft features a handful of unused phrases and strange doodles in addition to the classic "how does it feel" line.

  • Vampire Weekend Chris Tomson Fuego Phish Review Talkhouse

    Vampire Weekend's Drummer Is a Phish Head

    Over the last few years, Vampire Weekend's Chris Tomson has made no secret of his love for the oft-maligned noodlers in Phish, but in a review of their new album Fuego for the Talkhouse, he makes it pretty clear just how deep that affinity goes.

  • Veruca Salt Its Holy Record Store Day Video

    Watch Veruca Salt's Charming, Fan-Aided 'It's Holy' Video

    After nearly two decades apart, the original lineup of Chicago alt-rock quartet Veruca Salt reunited for a new single in celebration of April's Record Store Day. We've already seen a striking black-and-white clip for the A-side of that release, "The Museum of Broken Relationships," and today, just before the band heads out on a country-spanning tour, they let slip a charming little video for the battering B-side "It's Holy," via Entertainment Weekly.The band's holed up in the studio in the above visual, giving a relatively straightforward performance of the volatile track, but their guitar heroics and ramshackle vocalizations are presented here in split screen with some lower fidelity footage of fans in their homes enjoying the new single.

  • Lana Del Rey Frances Bean Cobain Wish Dead Twitter

    Lana Del Rey to Frances Bean Cobain: Dying Young Isn't 'Glam'

    Sunday night, Kurt Cobain's daughter Frances Bean Cobain took Lana Del Rey to task on Twitter for her recent comments that seemed to glorify the idea of dying young. Del Rey went as far as saying that she wished she was dead already, a statement that set the younger Cobain off since it stemmed from an earlier discussion of Kurt.

  • FKA twigs Two Weeks New Single LP1 video

    Watch FKA Twigs' Regal 'Two Weeks' Video

    The London-based R&B aesthete FKA twigs has been slowly churning out atmospheric, breathy beat-pop since the release of EP1 back in December of 2012. After the release of her daring and distended EP2, one of SPIN's Best R&B Albums of 2013, she's finally gearing up for the release of her debut full-length, appropriately titled LP1. "Two Weeks," the first track from that record, premiered yesterday on Ellie Goulding's BBC Radio 1 takeover, and now today it has an official video.In the clip, Twigs herself takes a seat on a throne to star as a goddess who can shoot water from the tip of her finger.

  • Electric Daisy Carnival Death Montgomery Tsang Bonnaroo

    Second Man Dies After Attending Electric Daisy Carnival 2014

    A 25-year-old man from Everett, Washington named Anthony Anaya was found dead at Las Vegas' Vdara Resort on Saturday night after attending this year's Electric Daisy Carnival, according to reports in both Las Vegas Review-Journal and the Las Vegas Sun. This latest tragedy comes just a day after the passing of 24-year-old San Leandro, California resident Montgomery Tsang.The Review-Journal reports that police believe both deaths to be due to medical conditions, but a coroner is waiting for blood toxicology reports to make a determination in the causes of death of both Tsang and Anaya.

  • Kanye Apple Beats Steve Job Ugly Cannes

    Watch Kanye Talk Steve Jobs, the Internet, the Apple/Beats Deal at Cannes

    Early last week, before popping up at Dave Chappelle's Radio City residency and throwing an extravagant birthday party for his one-year-old daughter, Kanye West took some time to take stock of all his disparate creative and personal impulses as part of a panel at the 2014 iteration of the Cannes Lions Festival. In conversation with technology entrepreneurs Steve Stoute and Ben Horowitz, he discussed the Apple/Beats deal, the influence of Steve Jobs, and the aesthetics of the internet.

  • Philip Selway Weatherhouse new solo album announce

    Radiohead's Philip Selway Plots Sophomore LP 'Weatherhouse'

    A couple of weeks ago, Radiohead guitarist Jonny Greenwood casually revealed that the moody U.K. quintet had been on a yearlong break. From the looks of things drummer Philip Selway has made the most of his time off because, as Consequence of Sound points out, he's readying his second solo LP, Weatherhouse, for an October 7 release on Bella Union.The other members of Radiohead, for their parts, have been tied up doing just about everything except recording new tunes with their main band. Greenwood has been working on the live show for his There Will Be Blood score, as well as debuting a new piece called "Loop," plus working with the National's Bryce Dessner on a classical record.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 KLOË — Grip " 03:24
  • 2 Dead Right! — Rising Tide (Saint Motel Remix) " 03:17
  • 3 The-Dream — Fruition " 04:33
  • 4 A. G. Cook — What I Mean " 04:06
  • 5 Howardian — Be Fruitful " 02:03
  • 6 The Suffers — Make Some Room " 04:34
  • 7 Adventures — Your Sweetness " 04:10

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA