• 111201-band-of-skulls.png

    Stream Band of Skulls' Tasty New Single 'Sweet Sour'

    SPIN would like to thank the scruffy, meaty Southhampton rockers Band of Skulls for reviewing their new album Sweet Sour in the album title, saving us hours of actual listening and analyzing. Due February 21 via Vagrant, the second record from SPIN's "Hot New Trio" of 2009 is a monstrous crunch-off: metal-sized riffs and sugary harmonies existing in some nebulous region between My Morning Jacket and Mastodon. Be the first to hear the first single and title track, three minutes and 30 seconds of doomladen retro-chug that sounds like Jack White gone Black Sabbath.

  • 111127-Lakutis.png

    Hear 'Lakutis in the House' By Das Racist Pal Lakutis

    From the same bustling New York hip-hop fraternity that brought you Das Racist, Despot, Mr.Muthafuckin Exquire, and their Detroit pal Danny Brown comes mustachioed rhyme-ripper Lakutis. His upcoming mixtape, I'm in the Forest has more hip 2011 cosigns than Occupy Wall Street as it's being co-released via Das Racist's Greedhead imprint and fashion label Mishka on December 1. In short: You should probably be paying attention to this thing. SPIN has the opening track, "Lakutis in the House," which features a flow that should be easily embraced by fans of this breed of New York rap: suave smart-assery, demented assonance and ridiculous pop culture references (C.W. McCall, Bill Hader, Dune). But unlike his laid-back friends, Lakutis has a spasmodic energy all his own — think of him as the Jim Jones to Heems' Cam'ron! I'm in the Forest Track List: 1. "Lakutis in the House"2.

  • 111127-fucked-up.png

    F'ed Up's Damian Abraham Named Bruise Cruise Director, Celebrates With Newish Song

    From what little we remember, SPIN clearly had a great time on 2011's Bruise Cruise, the three-day Caribbean voyage that doubled as an drunken orgy of garage-rock hedonism and pasty hipster flesh. This year's ship-off is already looking like a monster, thanks to performances by Thee Oh Sees, the Dirtbombs, the Soft Pack, Neil Hamburger, and many more. But we're most excited that unpredictable artcore dervish Damien Abraham of Fucked Up has just been named this year's "Cruise Director." Says the official Bruise Cruise paperwork: "Damian will host a variety of concerts, workshops, and special events through out the festival's duration at sea.

  • 111128-boris.png

    Stream Boris' Awesome, WTF-Worthy New Album 'New Album'

    Earlier this spring, SPIN raved about Boris's slinky 17th album Attention Please, adding it was "the least 'metal' thing the band have released to date." Obviously, we spoke too soon because along comes New Album, a repackaged, retracklisted, remixed version of a Japan-only album (due in the states December 6 via Sargent House), which sends our sludge heroes down a windswept wormhole of house beats and sunshiney melodies. While hardcore Boris fanatics may recognize a few of the tracks from this year's snaky Attention Please and stoner-glazed Heavy Rocks, New Album is a beaming ode to optimism and joy — an awesomely wild detour from the band who nicked their name (and sound) from a Melvins song.

  • 111128-heavy-d.png

    Watch Rap Royalty Honor Heavy D at Soul Train Awards

    Last night, BET aired the 24th Annual Soul Train Music Awards, where Chris Brown and Marsha Ambrosius walked away big winners, scoring Album of the Year and Record of the Year trophies, respectively. However, the real story of the night was a tribute to fallen rap icon Heavy D, who passed away at age 44 earlier this month. Heavy is a Soul Train Awards veteran — the perennially dope LP Big Tyme beat out luminaries like De La Soul and Big Daddy Kane for the Best Rap Album trophy in 1990 — and the stars came out to show they had nuttin' but love. With Doug E. Fresh serving as master of ceremonies, Naughty By Nature ran through Hev's crossover smash "We Got Our Own Thang" alongside Goodie Mob in their first televised appearance since reuniting with founding members Cee-Lo Green and Big Gipp. Pop-rap forebears Whodini dropped by for "Mr.

  • 111118-hip-hop-indie.png

    Fear of a Slack Planet: Hip-Hop's Indie Rock Crush

    Hip-hop and indie rock have been secret pals long before Jay-Z was setting up his beach chair at Grizzly Bear's Williamsburg pool party. Thirty years of cross-pollination between rappers and their punk/alternative/indie brethren have produced experiments that range from the miraculous to the downright disastrous — and the less said about Dee Dee Ramone's rap alter-ego the better.

  • 111115-maria-minerva.png

    Hear Maria Minerva's Lo-Fi Gloom-Disco EP 'Sacred & Profane Love'

    Lo-fi avant-diva Maria Minerva is a twentysomething Estonian student making home-brewed disco jams that walk that uneasy line between blissed-out haze and Yoko-style atonality. She's already released three EPs for Not Not Fun and the wooze-label's decidedly bent dance music imprint 100% Silk, and now SPIN brings you the fourth, the Sacred & Profane Love EP. The most dance-centric of the lot, Sacred is a dizzy pile-up of layed vocals, enveloping drones and glassy-eyed microdisco. Do a little dance, get downer tonight:

  • 111115-reggie-watts.png

    Hear a Filthy, Funky New Reggie Watts Track

    SPIN's favorite Afro'd absurdist Reggie Watts — named SPIN's best new comedian of 2010 — recently performed a sold out show at NYU's Skirball Center called "On Life and Quantum Entanglement." As Watts' shows are rooted in improvisation and off-the-dome expressionism, no two shows are identical, like little weird snowflakes. This one was unique enough that he's releasing it, bit-by-bit, to the internet in 11 parts. SPIN has part 3, a song that features loads of beatboxing, harmonies working funky magic through his loop pedals and the word "shit" more than 30 times. Shit!

  • 111115-waters.png

    Video Premiere: '90s Revivalists WATERS' 'Back to You'

    WATERS is the crunchy, superfuzzy, bigmuffy '90s revivalism project of ex-Port O'Brien vocalist Van Pierszalowski. Their latest video, "Back to You," from recently released debut album Out in the Light. is a grand tour opus like Bon Jovi's "Wanted Dead or Alive" without the steel horse — a buzzband's tour van is more like a steel donkey if anything. The whole thing is more mid-'90s than an armload of Yuck cassettes: denim jackets, fuzzy video footage, a marquee boasting a Neil Hamburger show. Hell, the only thing this is missing is Lewis Largent introducing the damn thing. Enjoy:brightcove.createExperiences();

  • 111115-blackout-beach.png

    First Spin: Stream the New Blackout Beach Album From Frog Eyes' Carey Mercer

    Fuck Death is the third Blackout Beach album from Carey Mercer, breathy frontman for indie-rock heroes Frog Eyes and Swan Lake and his first for art-indie hub Dead Oceans. Mercer says the album was "an attempt to make something about beauty and war," inspired by seeing Platoon as a 10 year old and reading Chinese soldier poems as an adult (among a list of other things describes in great detail on the Dead Oceans site.> However, we hear everything from the discomfort of Xiu Xiu, the gloom-joy harmonies of TV on the Radio, the itchy churn of Suicide, the vintage synths of Emeralds, and the apocalyptic horror of the Animals all in this shimmering, moody clusterbomb of "coward's songs." Some real terrifying, powerful stuff housed in these eight tracks, perfect for your Wednesday pick-me-down:

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA