• 080207_catpower_main.jpg

    Cat Power Powers Through Technical Difficulties

    Though openers, Parisian-born electro-pop act Appaloosa, galloped through Nico-esque numbers without a hitch, Cat Power's Jukebox was on the fritz. Crooning covers from her new album to the sold-out audience at Terminal 5 last night (Feb. 6), Cat Power a.k.a.

  • Morrissey's Big Mouth Strikes Again

    Brit rock's most angsty elder statesman Morrissey sweated andswayed through a diverse set spanning both his solo career and Smithshighlights at the Hammerstein Ballroom last night (Oct. 22), the firstof his five-date engagement in the Big Apple. The motley crowd (asheterogeneous as the setlist, running the gamut from graying Smithsdevotees to the young and gothic) was warmed up by the wails of Moz'shand-picked operatic opener Kristeen Young, channeling a more agro KateBush.

  • Bear Hands

    Who? Don't let the cheeky band name fool you into thinking these boys just wanna have pun: though Brooklyn's Dylan Rau (vocals/guitar), Ted Feldman (guitar), Val Loper (bass) and TJ Orscher (drums) have only been together for a little over a year, Bear Hands has hit the live music scene claws-out. They just wrapped up a September residency at the popular Lower East Side venue Pianos, and their debut release, Golden EP, will hit store shelves Nov. 13 via the Freedom In Exile imprint. What's the Deal? Golden EP's tight four song set is a pitch-perfect pairing of post-punk and indie rock. The energetic guitars crunch with a touch of Ted Leo & the Pharmacists' edge (particularly in upbeat opener "Long Lean Queen"), and Rau's piercing vocals call up comparisons to another idiosyncratic ironist: Modest Mouse's Isaac Brock.

  • The A-Sides

    Who? Following their highly-regarded 2005 full-length debut, Hello, Hello, "Philebrities" Jon Barthmus (vocals, guitar, keys), Mike Fleming (bass, vocals), Patrick Marsceill (drums, vocals), Charlie Cottone (guitar), and Christopher Doyle (keyboards, guitar) kept perfecting their catchy anthemic pop, traveling from their Pennsylvania base to play live with the likes of British Sea Power, the National, We Are Scientists, and the French Kicks. Their upcoming sophomore LP, Silver Storms, is forecasted for a September 18th release on the Vagrant imprint. What's the Deal? Though the album is named Silver Storms, musically, the A-Sides' atmospherics are closer to the sprawling sound of the Shins mixed with Modest Mouse's mastery of rhythm. Over the course of 11 tracks, the album delivers eclectic indie pop, replete with shimmering guitars, kicky drums, and crashing waves of sound.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA