Brandon Soderberg



  • Danny Brown / Photos by Ryan Muir

    Danny Brown Brings Sublimely Potty-Mouthed Set to SPIN Roof

    Last night, Danny Brown, still running on the momentum of last year's Fool's Gold-released XXX (SPIN's rap album of the year), performed on our office rooftop — a short set full of screaming-all-the-lyrics love and a fairly off-the-chain vibe for a SPIN Live event sponsored by Thrillist and Jack Threads. A roof full of people bleated back "blunt after blunt after blunt after blunt" into the night air, the number of New Yorkers too cool to participate shrinking each time Danny threw the mic in the direction of the crowd. Brown went in on his strongest, weirdest stuff, leaning towards newer tracks (XXX deluxe edition track "Witit," his A-Trak and Juicy J collaboration "Piss Test"), anchoring the set around what can only be accurately described as a suite of pussy-eating songs.

  • Haleek Maul, 'Oxyconteen' (Merok Records)

    Barbadian teen with hella hip credentials navigates sinewy subgenres; like A$AP Rocky with something to say.

  • SpaceGhostPurrp, 'Mysterious Phonk: The Chronicles of SpaceGhostPurrp' (4AD)

    In the wake of Odd Future's success — which the decidedly anti-commercial skate-prick collective built entirely via Tumblr, YouTube, and message boards — we all vowed to never again miss out on recognizing rap's next young pseudo-subversive. So, with the help of some antsy, "firsties"-like accolades (LA Weekly: "Odd Future's Cosmic Cousin: Meet Spaceghostpurrp"), a couple of predictable co-signs (Three 6 Mafia's Juicy J, A$AP Rocky), and two pretty okay mixtapes (last year's NASA: The Mixtape and BLVCKLVND RVDIX 66.6), the profile of 21-year-old Miami producer/rapper Spaceghostpurrp, the very definition of an underground artist with limited appeal, inexplicably rose. And so, despite recording a song called "Fuck Taylor Gang" (or, "FVCK TVLXR GVNG"), Spaceghostpurrp produced "T.A.P." off a recent mixtape from Taylor Gang boss Wiz Khalifa.

  • Smoke DZA & Harry Fraud, 'Rugby Thompson' (High Times/Cinematic)

    "Shot Caller" producer's beats are the Visine to Curren$y capo's bleary-eyed boasts.

  • Nacho Picasso, 'Exalted' (Self-Released)

    Prolific, nerdy nihilist pumps out prickish punchlines set to Blue Sky Black Death's stoner sturm und drang.

  • Curren$y, 'The Stoned Immaculate' (Warner Bros.)

    Despite rickety radio-rap moves, Spitta keeps on truckin' on his latest major label cash infusion.

  • Watch Children of the Night's Lustrous 'Kids From Queens' Video

    Watch Children of the Night's Lustrous 'Kids From Queens' Video

    Children of the Night's mixtape Queens...Revisited pays throat-clearing tribute to their home borough and its legendary hip-hop traditions. Right there in their mixtape title is an acknowledgement that this trio walk over ground already paved by legends like Mobb Deep, Nas, and Run-DMC (just to name a few). But placing nostalgia front and center allows the group to keep it moving and take part in a burgeoning New York rap scene that includes Action Bronson, Das Racist, Meyhem Lauren, and many more. In the video for "Kids From Queens," rappers Lansky, Remy Banks, and Nasty Nigel dignify the stark imagery of classic Queens rap videos.

  • Fat Tony & Tom Cruz, 'Double Dragon' (Young One)

    Final boss bloops soundtrack New South rapper/producers as they swang and bang into an 8-bit sunset.

  • Miguel

    Miguel, 'Art Dealer Chic EPs' (Self-Released)

    The singles from Miguel's 2010 debut, All I Want Is You — the boom-bap&B title track featuring J. Cole, the gentlemanly, syrup-drunk groove of "Sure Thing," and "Quickie," a reggae-tinged celebration of immediate satisfaction that dares to take its time — marked the Los Angeles singer as a newbie with potential staying power. This year, by dropping a trio of free three-song EPs over the course of three months, he has joined an illustrious, rarefied crop of holdouts: You know, those guys (and girls!) who've decided to step back and follow their various muses into an insular world of atmospheric slow jams until EDM blows over. Think Drake and Trey Songz, embellishing their emotions with blobs of synths. Think Frank Ocean and the Weeknd, defined as much by the patience and restraint inherent in their idiosyncratic personalities as by their hipster-bait signifiers.

  • 50 Cent, 'Lost Tape' (Self-Released)

    Man who made mixtapes matter mucks up his return with weak threats, crossover croons, and new goon, Kidd Kidd.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA