• 100714-kid-cudi-best-coast-.jpg

    WATCH: Vampire Weekend, Best Coast, Kid Cudi Video

    Vampire Weekend's Rostam Batmanglij, rap sensation Kid Cudi, and Best Coast's Bethany Cosentino have the solution to your summer doldrums: papier-mâché bobble heads. In the just-released music video for their collaborative track "All Summer," the trio liven up an otherwise run-of-the-mill summer afternoon by goofing off and rocking out to their catchy summer anthem, all while wearing giant versions of their own heads. Meta! "All Summer," which recently debuted on SPIN.com, is part of Converse's Three Artists, One Song series (previously featuring a collabo between Pharrell, Santigold, and Julian Casablancas). Click here to listen to the track, as well as watch exclusive footage of the artists in the studio recording it. What do you think of the "All Summer" video?

  • 100714-korn-01.jpg

    Korn: Recording New Album Was "Torture"

    Korn frontman Jonathan Davis is reminiscing about the recording process of hisband's just-released album Korn III: Remember Who You Are, calling it "sheer fucking torture and hell." Yikes. In a new interview with Billboard, the alt-metal singer says that producer Ross Robinson forced him to re-visit his painful past (also addressed in the band's controversial 1994 track "Daddy," which explores Davis' molestation as a child). "I'd come in with some lyrics," Davis says, "and we'd go through them line by line and talk about everything that was behind them, and [Robinson] would really want to get inside them. And once I'd get in there and start to sing he would use those things against me, like pouring salt on the wound. He got into my head and took me to a very bad place. I relapsed into fucking depression, hard. I got suicidal." The painful recording process paid off.

  • 100712-pretty-reckless-1.jpg

    New Song from Taylor Momsen's Pretty Reckless

    Courtney Love wears lingerie as outerwear, chain smokes, and has a song called "Miss World." New rock frontwoman (and 16-year-old Gossip Girl actress) Taylor Momsen wears lingerie as outerwear, chain smokes, and has a song called "Miss Nothing." Coincidence? Who cares. Momsen's band the Pretty Reckless just dropped the second single off their upcoming debut Light Me Up (out August 31), and while its lyrics recall Hole's 1994 hit, it's a catchy and gritty alt-rock anthem on its own. "I'm Miss Autonomy / Miss Nowhere... Miss Guided / I'm Miss Fortune... I'm Miss Nothing / I'm Miss Everything," Momsen sneers over a frenzy of distorted guitars on the track, unveiled on British radio Monday morning. Offstage, Momsen is also playing by the book of Courtney: "I didn't get into this to be a role model," she told Britain's Times Online.

  • 100712-interpol-10.jpg

    LISTEN: Interpol Release New Single!

    New York City post-punkers Interpol have quietly released another single off their upcoming fourth album, Interpol (out September 7). "Barricade" is available to stream at 130BPM and for purchase on iTunes. This second single from their new album is classic Interpol: dark and introspective, full of heavy rhythms, sharp guitar riffs, and frontman Paul Banks' wailing vocals. Interpol is the group's first release since the departure of band co-founder and bassist Carlos Dengler. Dengler, whose playing is featured on Interpol, left the band in May and was replaced by Dave Pajo, an indie vet who has played with Slint, Will Oldham, Zwan, and, most recently, toured as a member of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs.

  • 100707-mia.jpg

    LISTEN: New M.I.A. Album Streaming Online

    Global music provocateur M.I.A. is previewing her new album, MAYA, via her MySpace page. A week before its official July 13 release date, 11 of the album's 12 tracks (one song, "Lovalot," is missing) are streaming on the site. Already praised by SPIN as one of 2010's best albums, MAYA is M.I.A.'s third LP and her first since 2007's Kala. The 12-song album includes club banger "XXXO" and politico-punk track "Born Free" (check out its controversial video), as well as another (surprise!) politically-minded standout track "Lovalot." Songs releasedto MySpace include the lighthearted reggae jam "It Takes A Muscle" and "Space," a loopy, dream-like track featuring M.I.A.'s signature dubstep influence and electronic accents.

  • 100628-kanye-west.jpg

    WATCH: Kanye, Chris Brown Perform at BET Awards

    Sunday night in Los Angeles, BET held its 10th annual awards ceremony, and while the three-hour-plus show featured performances from Alicia Keys, Eminem, Drake, and more, Chris Brown and Kanye West stole the show. Watch video below. West opened with the live debut of his new single, "Power," making his first public appearance since his now-famous "Imma-Let-You-Finish" display at the 2009 VMA Awards. He performed from the peak of a smoldering volcano that looked straight out of Godzilla, with exaggerated lighting and bursts of smoke dramatizing his performance. It takes a lot to overshadow Kanye, but Chris Brown's dramatic display during the evening's Michael Jackson tribute certainly did.

  • 100628-Deftones.jpg

    Deftones Confirm Headlining U.S. Tour

    Hard-rocking band Deftones have announced a new, 27-date U.S. tour in support of their latest album, Diamond Eyes. The group toured throughout the Spring, including a stop at May's Rock on the Range festival, hit the European festival circuit, and have been revving up for this fall's Blackdiamondskye tour with Mastodon and Alice in Chains, which starts September 16. But they'll fill August and September with these new U.S. dates, kicking off August 6 at California's Ventura Theatre. The tour then winds its way up the West Coast and across the Midwest, concluding just over a month later at the House of Blues in Cleveland. Tickets are available via the band's official site, and one dollar from every ticket sold for the tour will be donated to a trust fund for Deftones' bassist Chi Cheng, who is currently in a semi-conscious state after a car crash in 2008.

  • 100623-hives.jpg

    DOWNLOAD: Hives Cover Punk Band Zero Boys

    For their first release since 2007's The Black and White Album, Swedish quintet the Hives have opted to record an assortment of covers instead of original material -- and their song choices are quite interesting. Their three-song EP, titled Tarred and Feathered and slated to drop digitally on July 2 (and on vinyl a week later), features covers of "Civilization's Dying" by Indiana hardcore punk band the Zero Boys, "Early Morning Wake Up Call" by Australian New Wave band Flash and the Pan, and "Nasty Secretary" by Joy Rider & Avis Davis, a 1980s New York City punk rock group.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA