• 090720-thom-yorke.jpg

    Watch: Thom Yorke Plays New Tune Live!

    Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke debuted a brand-new song, "Present Tense," during his early afternoon set at England's Latitude Festival Sunday. Before sitting down with his acoustic guitar to play the lilting, lovelorn track, he joked, "This is a new song, so, you know, go for a piss." Plans for a new solo album have yet to be announced, but Yorke recently recorded a cover of Miracle Legion's "All For The Best" for an upcoming Mark Mulcahy tribute album, and Twilight director Chris Weitz has said that new music from Yorke may appear on the next film's soundtrack. Meanwhile, Radiohead returned to the studio in May to begin recording their follow-up to 2007's In Rainbows. WATCH:Thom Yorke, "Present Tense"

  • 090717-yoko-hoppus.jpg

    3 Best Musician Twitterers of the Week

    Lots of musicians tweet -- but all that Twitters is not gold. That's why you'll want to check out SPIN.com every Friday to see whose tweets we're reading this week -- then update your TweetDeck! (Obligatory Self-Promotion: ...while you're at it be sure to follow @SPINmagazine!) This week's winners: Who: U2360 TOUR (@U2_360tour)Why You Should Follow: Ever wonder what the world looks like from the Edge's point of view? Now you can find out! The U2 axeman posts daily pictures to the band's official tour Twitter, giving followers a behind-the-scenes look at all of the long bus rides, fancy croissant breakfasts, police escorts, and red carpets that make up a U2 world tour.Best Tweet of the Week: This shot of U2's royal greeting at a French airport.

  • 090709-dead-before-sunrise.jpg

    Linkin Park's Bennington Discusses His Drug Addiction

    Linkin Park co-frontman Chester Bennington has spoken out about his longtime struggle with drugs and alcohol, confessing in a new interview with Noisecreep that his experience with addiction inspired many of the songs on Out of Ashes, his upcoming album with side-project Dead By Sunrise. "My life was falling apart in many ways that I was writing about on this record in terms of getting divorced, in terms of diving very hard into alcohol and drugs throughout this process," he said of his 2005 split from his wife of nine years. On "My Suffering," Bennington sings about how his struggles helped him rise to international fame with Linkin Park, fueling the raw emotion behind his lyrics and vocals. "[It's] literally about [how] being an alcoholic and a drug addict has paid off for me in many ways," he said.

  • 090717-kings-leon-yorke.jpg

    Thom Yorke, Kings of Leon for Next 'Twilight' Soundtrack?

    Paramore may be totally over vampire blockbuster Twilight, but Radiohead mastermind Thom Yorke and Kings of Leon certainly are not -- both are in talks to record new music for the soundtrack to the next Twilight film, New Moon! "I'm surprised at some of the bands that have said they're interested," director Chris Weitz told Rotten Tomatoes. "The criterion will still always be what's right for the movie at that given moment, but Thom Yorke is interested; we might, if we're very lucky, get Kings of Leon to do something...

  • 090716-death-volt.jpg

    Death Cab, Son Volt Frontmen Record Kerouac-Inspired Songs

    Death Cab for Cutie's Ben Gibbard and Son Volt's Jay Farrar are collaborating on a side-project inspired by '50s Beat writer Jack Kerouac. The pair met while recording songs for an upcoming Kerouac documentary, One Fast Move or I'm Gone: Kerouac's Big Sur, which examines the writer's life in the years after he published On the Road, the dizzying, drug-fueled novel that announced him as the voice of a generation. Farrar told the Riverfront Times that the collaboration felt natural. "We both wound up in the studio together, just sort of decided to take a step further and record a whole batch of songs," he said. "It's kind of evolved into a real project. I guess there aren't a whole lot of details about it yet, but it's in the works, and it could possibly come out in the fall, like around October -- which I think is a Jack Kerouac anniversary of sorts." (Kerouac died Oct.

  • 090715-hole.jpg

    Courtney Love to Eric Erlandson: "Hole Is MY Band!"

    Looks like things just got tense between Courtney Love and her former Hole bandmate, guitarist Eric Erlandson. This morning, Love posted a rant on Twitter (see below) aimed at Erlandson, in response to his comments to SPIN.com last week, which lambasted Love's plans to release a new album under the Hole name without him and possibly without bassist Melissa Auf Der Maur. "The way I look at it, there is no Hole without me," said the Zen-practicing axeman. Love, of course, didn't take too kindly to that.

  • 090715-radiohead.jpg

    Listen: Thom Yorke's New Song

    Radiohead mastermind Thom Yorke has released a cover of alt-rock band Miracle Legion's "All For The Best." Listen here. The song is part of a new tribute album -- Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs of Mark Mulcahy -- which helps to raise money for the Miracle Legion singer-songwriter, who has left music to care for his three-year-old twins since his wife's sudden death last fall. The album drops September 29, and in addition to Thom Yorke it features covers by Frank Black, Michael Stipe, and Dinosaur Jr., among others. Yorke's cover transforms the band's original version (off their 1987 debut, Surprise Surprise Surprise) into an electronic song with discordant guitar and melodic humming. It's a great cover, totally unique while still retaining the spunk of the original. Ciao My Shining Star tracklist:1. Thom Yorke - "All For The Best"2, The National - "Ashamed Of The Story I Told"?3.

  • 090714-panic-at-disco.jpg

    Panic at the Disco: What Happened?

    Last week, Las Vegas emo-pop band Panic at the Disco announced that two of its members -- guitarist Ryan Ross and bassist Jon Walker -- are quitting to pursue a new musical project together.

  • 090715-kleerup.jpg

    Listen: Lykke Li's Hot New Collaboration

    Depressing lyrics about bad breakups and toxic relationships don't usually make for good dance songs, but Swedish producer Andreas Kleerup has somehow managed to defy this rule on his debut album, Kleerup. The album -- released last year in Europe but getting a U.S. release July 28 on Astralwerks -- has already struck gold overseas with singles like "With Every Heartbeat," a chart-topping collaboration with Swedish pop diva Robyn, and "Until We Bleed," a sleek, moody piece of electro-pop featuring vocals by Lykke Li. The latter -- which you can hear below -- is one of Kleerup's standout tracks, mostly due to Li's performance, which is raspy, wounded, and utterly haunting.

  • 090714-beck.jpg

    Watch: Beck Plays Acoustic

    Beck's at it again! After debuting covers of Velvet Underground songs and launching his Irrelevant Topics interview series, the always-innovative singer has introduced yet another new feature to his web site -- and this time, he's playing his own music. To celebrate the one-year anniversary of his latest album, Modern Guilt, Beck has started a new section, Videotheque,with a black-and-white video of himself and his band performing an acoustic version of the Modern Guilt track "Orphans." The video was recorded after Beck's March tour of Japan -- "under severe jet lag," according to the site -- and there's more to come: apparently, Beck and Co. filmed acoustic performances of every track on the album.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA