• 110609-bon-iver.png

    'Bon Iver' Returning as Deluxe Reissue With 10 Videos

    Bon Iver's acclaimed double-self-titled record was released just five months ago, but it's already getting deluxe reissue treatment in time for the 2011 holiday shopping season. The new version of the disc won't feature any bonus tracks, though. Instead, it will include short films to "complement and enrich" each of the album's 10 lush and (appropriately) cinematic tracks. The clips' directors include Dan Huiting, Isaac Gale, David Jensen, JoLynn Garnes, and Justin Vernon himself. Read SPIN's Bon Iver cover story from July. Bon Iver, Bon Iver will be released via iTunes and at a limited number of record stores on November 29. The videos will also be available for sale separately on iTunes, and Jagjaguwar will begin selling the package on its website starting in early December. In the meantime, the label spliced together some samples of the videos in a YouTube trailer.

  • 111104-titus-1.png

    Watch Titus Andronicus' Frontman Sing About His Electric Shock

    Titus Andronicus frontman Patrick Stickles was rushed to the hospital Wednesday night after sustaining a serious electrical zap from a microphone at a Brooklyn rehearsal space. During a long wait at the Long Island College Hospital, a loopy and dazed — but otherwise fine — Stickles performed a new song for fellow patients, which he wrote on the way to the emergency room. The title of the track? "Electric Man." "I'm happy to be alive," Stickles, still recovering, tells SPIN. He adds, jokingly, "But the next Titus album is going to be acoustic!" The band was practicing at Brooklyn's Shea Stadium, a live/work/performance venue, when complications at a Con Edison construction site nearby apparently sent a surge of electricity through the lines and eventually to Stickles' mic. A Con Edison rep wasn't available for comment at press time.

  • 100730-national-main.jpg

    Listen to an Unreleased Demo From the National

    Brassland, the New York City-based indie label run by the National's twin brothers Aaron and Bryce Dessner and their writer pal Alec Hanley Bemis, turns 10 years old this month, and its founders are doling out free musical gifts to celebrate. Every weekday in November, fans can download a new track, including unreleased songs, rare demos, and live recordings, from artists on the label's roster. An unreleased demo of the National's "High Beams," which appeared on the Music for Robots Vol. 1 compilation back in 2005, is one of the first offerings. Stream it below right now (a free download will be available on Thursday). Brassland has released a track list for all the releases planned for November, though several of the song titles have yet to be revealed, including another song by the National due November 21.

  • 111024-titus-andronicus.png

    Amy Klein Leaves Titus Andronicus: 'I Couldn't Do It Anymore'

    Amy Klein, the kinetic guitarist, violinist, and sole female in New Jersey punk rock outfit Titus Andronicus, announced she's decided to quit the band in a blog post published over the weekend. There was no dramatic fallout, she tells SPIN, but after two years it was time to move on. "To commit to being in a band you really have to be giving it 100 percent all the time," she says. "When I was thinking about another album cycle, another year of touring, I didn't think I could do it anymore. There are a lot of other things I want to do with my life before I settle down." While she plans to focus on other music projects, including her Amy Klein and the Blue Star Band and rock duo Hilly Eye, Klein admits that she'll also start scouring help wanted ads. With an English literature degree from Harvard already on her résumé, she also hopes to pursue an MFA in creative writing.

  • 111020-decemberists.png

    Decemberists' Jenny Conlee's Cancer Is in Remission

    Jenny Conlee, keyboard and accordion player for the Decemberists, is in good health five months after the band announced she'd been diagnosed with breast cancer. Frontman Colin Meloy delivered the news via Twitter Thursday afternoon, writing, "For those of you wondering, saw Jenny this week; our girl's officially in remission! #teamjenny #beyondchemodome." In May, the Decemberists posted a note on their website warning fans their "since-the-very-beginning accordion and keyboard player and all-around rad person" would be missing spring and summer tour dates to receive treatment, noting she had fortunately caught the disease in its early stages.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA