Young Prisms, 'Friends for Now' (Kanine)

Friends for Now
Critical Mass
Release Date: January 18, 2011
Label: Kanine

by Michael Tedder

On their debut full-length, Young Prisms capture the exact moment when a nightmare's confounding anxiety shifts into the sigh of relief that it's finally over. But unlike much of the current post-Animal Collective psychedelia, there's a palpable, full-bodied force and galloping beat behind the bliss. The key to the band's appeal is singer Stef Hodapp, whose vocals are afloat in so many oceans of distortion that they feel like heaven's own poetry, even though there's no way to confirm that she's not just ordering lunch.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 2 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35
  • 3 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31
  • 4 Mystery Skulls — Paralyzed (Single Version) " 02:34
  • 5 G-Eazy — Say Ft. French Montana " 04:32
  • 6 Kevin Morby — We Did It All Wrong " 04:47
  • 7 Kiesza — Giant In My Heart (Arches Remix) " 05:50

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA