Wussy, 'Wussy' (Shake It)

Critical Mass

by Jon Young

For exposing ordinary life's flaming weirdness, you can't beat the shabby folk rock on this Cincinnati band's witty third album. Leading with scratchy electric guitars, songwriters Chuck Cleaver and Lisa Walker express bitter dejection and wobbly optimism in raw voices that ooze needy angst. One highlight:"Happiness Bleeds," in which the hero pukes down the side of a car and searches for "a bag of mildewy porn," then ponders the meaning of existence. But every track, from "All the Bugs Are Growing" to "Maglite," captures messy, seething passions in all their juicy splendor.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA