Various Artists, 'Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs of Mark Mulcahy' (Shout! Factory)

Critical Mass

by Jon Young

This deeply satisfying 21-song tribute was devised to help recently widowed singer-songwriter Mark Mulcahy (ex–Miracle Legion, Polaris) raise his young twin daughters and get on with life. (Grab a hankie before reading the liner notes.) Some artists -- a creepy Thom Yorke murmuring "All for the Best," a lunatic Frank Black bellowing "Bill Jocko" -- twist the material. Others -- Juliana Hatfield getting sultry on "We're Not in Charleston Anymore," Elvis Perkins crooning "She Watches Over Me" -- follow Mulcahy's folkrock template. For extra credit, download another 20 tracks from the likes of A.C. Newman and Buffalo Tom.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26
  • 2 Buzzcocks — "It's Not You" " 02:46
  • 3 The Drums — Magic Mountain " 04:05
  • 4 Jessie Ware — Kind Of...Sometimes...Maybe " 03:46
  • 5 Flying Lotus — Coronus, the Terminator " 02:40
  • 6 JEFF The Brotherhood — Gouge Away " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA