The Twilight Sad, 'Forget the Night Ahead' (FatCat)

Critical Mass

by David Peisner

The Twilight Sad's 2007 debut album, Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters, firmly placed them in Scotland's tradition of intensely literate sad bastards (Big Country, Belle & Sebastian, Arab Strap). But the quartet spend most of their follow-up in hiding. Their crashing, shimmering walls of guitar are now simply a persistent, feedback-drenched drone, obscuring any sense of melody or dynamics. The always-twee lyrics (sample line: "You are the bearer of a womb without love") have become stubbornly obtuse. Moments of transcendence occasionally emerge from the murk, but not often enough.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Little Big League — Tropical Jinx " 01:59
  • 2 ScHoolboy Q — Studio (Remix) Feat. Nas & BJ the CHicago Kid " 04:52
  • 3 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 4 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26
  • 5 Buzzcocks — "It's Not You" " 02:46

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA