Toadies, 'Feeler' (Kirtland)

Critical Mass
Label: Kirtland

by Doug Brod

You've been touring nonstop in support of your first new album in seven years. What do you do next? If you're Texas-based scrungers Toadies, you redo your unreleased second album, recorded in 1997 and rejected by Interscope, presumably for lacking another "Possum Kingdom," which drove their debut Rubberneck to platinum sales. The label was perceptive -- the closest to a "hit" here is the insistently melodic "City of Hate" -- but that doesn't mean Vaden Todd Lewis and crew were slacking. No one does sinister arena rock better, and on the rabid "Dead Boy," they offer a bottleneck-guitar solo seemingly played by Satan himself.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 2 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26
  • 3 Buzzcocks — "It's Not You" " 02:46
  • 4 The Drums — Magic Mountain " 04:05
  • 5 Jessie Ware — Kind Of...Sometimes...Maybe " 03:46
  • 6 Flying Lotus — Coronus, the Terminator " 02:40

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA